Skip to content

EPL Schedule 2022

Everest Premier League [EPL] Nepal – Coverage

Everest Premier League is Nepal’s professional T20 franchise league played every year during the winter season usually in December month. EPL tournament is not run and organized by Nepal’s cricket board (Cricket Association of Nepal), instead it is run by a private organization called EPL Pvt. Ltd which is a private group owned by Aamir Akhtar and Suraj Giri.

Initially in 2014, the Zohra Sports Management and Cricket Association of Nepal [CAN] had discussions to start a franchise tournament called NPL. But later, the board had pulled out as organizers for the tournament which led to call-off the tournament in 2014.

However, after two years the EPL tournament was planned and organized by a private organization with the help of the CAN.

In 2017, ICC had officially sanctioned the EPL, thus allowing all domestic and foriegn players to contest in this league. EPL has also paid 20,000 USD to ICC that will be used solely towards the development of Nepal Cricket.

 The target of EPL is to bring investors, sponsors and players under one roof in order to work together for the growth and development of cricket in Nepal. Just like other leagues  in the world, EPL also aims to scout, groom and promote young local talent in the country who will one day represent Nepal’s national team.

With the involvement of foriegn star players and coaches in EPL, the  local Nepali players can benefit a lot by sharing the same dressing with the big players. It gives an international exposure for the players, thus making them capable of handling the pressure of playing intense international matches.

It is a fact that fans bring an extra element and excitement without which any league is incomplete. The Nepali fans are so passionate towards this league that during the EPL final more than 16,000 fans came to support their favourite team. It is great to see the involvement of fans in EPL despite the fact that Nepal hasn’t been a top-rated international side.

The first Edition of EPL was played in the year 2016. Panchakanya Tej are winners of the inaugural season as they defeat the Colors X-factors by 40 runs in the final. Lalitpur Patriots are the defending champions, they had won the title by defeating the Bhairahawa Gladiators by 14 runs.

1Sports is the official broadcasting channel which telecasts all the matches of EPL.

The 4th edition of EPL was originally scheduled to start from 8th december 2020, but was rescheduled several times after that. Finally on 5th March, the tournament was postponed due to COVID-19 pandemic.

The next season of EPL is scheduled to start from 25th September during the Vijayadashami festival. The tournament has been scheduled earlier than the usual December window as the investors and stakeholders wanted to make up for their losses in the COVID-19 pandemic by organizing it during the festival season.

EPL Schedule Teams

The matches are played in single-round robin format, where each team plays the other once. Each team plays 5 matches in the group stage.

Points System –

For a Win – 2 points

For a Loss – 0 points

For a No-result – 1 point

The teams are ranked on the basis of points and the top-4 teams qualify for the play-offs.

Play-offs –

Qualifier 1 – The top two teams knock horns in qualifier 1. The winner qualifies for the final

Eliminator – The 3rd and 4th teams battle out in the eliminator. The winner reaches the qualifier 2

Qualifier 2 – The winner of Eliminator and the loser of Qualifier 1 compete in the qualifier 2. The winner qualifies for the final

Final – The winner of qualifier 1 and 2 compete in the final. The winner eventually lifts the title.

Team Records  –

Winners Per Season  –

1Panchakanya TejColors X-Factors2016
2Biratnagar WarriorsBhairahawa Gladiators2017
3Lalitpur PatriotsBhairahawa Gladiators2018

Teams –

A total of 6 teams participate in the EPL. The teams are as follows:

1. Bhairahawa Gladiators –

Captain – Sharad Vesawkar

Coach – Pubudu Dassnayakee

Owner – Aditya Shanghai

Marquee Player – Sharad Vesawakar

Titles – 0

Previous Season  – Runner-up

Bhairahawa Gladiators is a team based at Bhairahawa City.  In the two seasons played so, both the times they had finished mid-table and qualified for the play-offs. However, the Gladiators haven’t managed  to win a EPL title yet. The closest they reached was in the previous season where they lost to the Patriots by 14 runs in the final.

2. Kathmandu Kings XI

Captain – Farveez Maharoof

Coach – Manoj Katuwal

Owner – Rohit Gupta

Titles – 0

Marquee Player – Sandeep Lamichanne

Previous Season  –  Playoffs

Kathmandu Kings XI is a team of EPL based at Kathmandu which is the capital city of Nepal. The kings had a horrible start in their maiden season where they lost their first two matches and in the end of the league stage they could win only 1 out 5 matches thus finishing 5th the league stage.

The second season started off well for the Kings as they convincingly qualified for the playoffs, but lost their way in the playoffs. They lost both the qualifiers (1 and 2) thus getting knocked out of the tournament despite dominating in the league stage.

3. Lalitpur Patriots –

Captain – Gyanendra Malla

Coach – Raju Banet

Owner – Kishore Maharajan

Titles – 1

Previous Season – Winners

The defending champions Lalitpur Patriots is a team of EPL based at Lalitpur city. The Patriots were the table toppers of the previous season as they won 4 out of 5 games.  They won a close game in the qualifier 1 by just 1 wicket. They won the final convincingly by setting a good total of 155 against the Gladiators, thus lifting their maiden title.

4. Biratnagar Warriors –

Captain – Paras Khadka

Coach – Mahesh Rijal

Owner – Vishal Agarwal

Titles – 1

Previous season –  Finished 5th in the group stage

Biratnagar Warriors is a team of EPL based at Biratnagar city. Under the leadership of experienced captain the Biratnagar Warriors have won their maiden title in their first appearance. Hong Kong’s Babar Hayat was awarded the player of the series for brilliant performances throughout the season.

5. Chitwan Tigers –

Captain – Prithu Baskota

Coach –  Dipendra Chaudhary

Owner – Kishor Bhattarai

Titles – 0

Previous Season –  Play-offs

Chitwan Tigers is a team based at Chitwan city of Nepal. The Tigers have always been a star studded side with players like Paul Stirling, Max Holden, Dipendra Singh, Lalit Singha Bhandar who have performed well for their  international side.

Despite having some of the greatest stars they lacked depth in their local players, therefore they didn’t have a greatest season in their 1st appearance (2017). They did qualify for the plays-offs in the previous season but had lost to Warriors in the Eliminator.

6. Pokhara Rhinos –

Captain – Kyle Coetzer

Coach – Nabin Jha

Owners – Deepa Agarwal and Sahil Agarwal

Titles – 0

Previous Season – finished 6th

Pokhara Rhinos is a team based at Pokhara city of Nepal. This is the only franchise which has an overseas captain. Universe Boss Chris Gayle was also a part of this team.  They didn’t have the greatest season last time around as they lost all the 5 matches of group stage thus finishing at the bottom of the table.

Top-10 Run scores (2018-19 season)

R Inder Singh337
Dipendra Singh Airee231
Gaurav Tomar229
Richard Levi      204
Jaykishan Kolsawala  188
Kevin O’Brien184
Ryan Ten Doeschate  179
Paul Stirling157
John Simpson140
Pradeep Airee131

Top-10 Wicket takers (2018-19 season)

Mohammad Naveed   12
Pawan Sarraf11
Pardeep Sahu   10
Sunny Patel10
Lalit Bhandari9
Yogendra Singh Karki9
Kevin O’ Brien9
RE Van der Merwe8
Ryan Ten Doeschate  8
Sushan Bhari7