Global T20 Schedule 2022 (Canada)

Global T20 Canada is Canada’s franchise T20 tournament played once in every year. This league was started by Cricket Canada with help of ICC’s approval to start a league outside the caribbean islands.

The first edition of GT20 league was played in June 2018. The tournament usually goes on for 15 days.

Canada’s national team has an old history of international cricket since the 19th century. They were one among the teams to participate in the first ever international match played in 1844.

However, it is unfortunate that Canada is currently not amongst the top-level teams in the world. With the influence of USA’s baseball sport, the Canadians have lost interest and popularity in cricket which has been the  main reason for the fall of cricket in Canada.

So in order to bring back interest in cricket among the canadain locals, the Cricket Canada board had decided to start a Global T20 league in Canada.

The speciality of this league is that, GT20 has only 4 local canadain players the remaining 7 players are overseas stars. Unlike other leagues whose aim is to develop young local talent, the GT20 league aims to bring the biggest international players under one roof to compete against each other.  

Till date, two successful editions (2018,2019) of GT20 league have been organized by Cricket Canada. The 3rd edition of GT20 which was supposed to be played in the year 2020 has been postponed to 2021 due to COVID-19 pandemic.

Cricket Canada has released the dates for the 2021 edition of GT20 Canada. The tournament is scheduled to start from 24th June, 2020 and finish on 11th July, 2020.

Format –

The tournament is played in two rounds namely round-1 and round-2.

Round-1- The six teams played in round-robin format where each team played the other once.

Round-2 –  Each team plays an additional match in round 2. 

So In total each team plays six matches in the league stage. The top four ranked teams based on the points will qualify for the Playoffs.


Playoff 1 – The top-2 teams in the points table will play the playoff 1.

Knockout – The 3rd and 4th placed team will play the Knockout.

Playoff 3 – The loser of playoff 1 and winner of knockout will play the playoffs 3.

Final –The winner of playoff 1 and playoff 3 will play the final. The winner eventually lifts the title.

Teams Participating in this league –

A total of six teams participate in the GT20 league. Earlier, in 2018 there was a team from caribbean islands called Cricket West Indies B team. The very next year West Indies B team was replaced by Brampton Wolves.  

1. Winnipeg Hawks – 

Winnipeg Hawks is a team led by Dwayne Bravo – who has loads of experience of playing different T20 tournaments around the world. Legendary Pakistani fast bowler Waqar Younis is the coach of this side.

The Winnipeg Hawks have a good mix of international stars like JP Duminy and Chris Lynn and local Canadian stars like Rizwan Cheema and Hiral Patel.

2. Vancouver Knights

Chris Gayle’s led Vancouver Knights had won the 1st edition by defeating the Cricket West Indies B team in the final. Jamaican born former cricketer Donovan Miller is the coach of this side.

Over the years, the Vancouver Knights has been a West Indies dominant side, where international players like Andre Russell, Chris Gayle, Chadwick Walton, Sheldon Cottrell, Evin Lewis and Hayden Walsh were a part of this team.

3. Brampton Wolves

Brampton Wolves team is the latest addition to the GT20 Canada. Earlier there were plans to form a new team called the New York Legends.  But, the plan to include a US based team was dropped. Eventually, Brampton Wolves had replaced the Cricket West Indies B team in the 2nd edition of GT20.

Kiwi’s left handed opener Colin Munro was the skipper of the Wolves in the previous season, while West Indies national team coach Phil Simmons was the coach of the Brampton Wolves.

4. Edmonton Royals

Edmonton Royals is a team led by Mohammed Hafeez and coached by Stephen Fleming. They didn’t have the greatest of season in the previous edition as they finished in the bottom position of the point-table.

5. Toronto Nationals

Toronto Nationals is a team full of entertainers led by the stylish batsman Yuvraj Singh and coached by Geoff Lawson. After a disappointing performance in the  inaugural edition, where they finished bottom, the Toronto Nationals had finally qualified in the top-4 in the 2nd edition. However, despite scoring mammoth 238 runs in the Knockout, the Nationals failed to defend the DLS par total.

Heinrich Klaasen and Rodrigo Thomas were the key performers with the bat in the previous season, while Chris Green was the key performer with the ball.

6. Montreal Tigers

George Bailey led side, Montreal Tigers is a very strong team of GT20 canada.  Lasith Maling was a key performer for the Tigers in the 1st edition.

There was once instance, where a match of Montreal Tigers was delayed for two hours due to a bomb threat as a suspicious package was found in the venue which was later removed. The play eventually was resumed with 12 overs of gameplay per side.

Team Records –

Vancouver Knights are the winners of inaugural season (2018) of GT20. David Warner led side – the Winnipeg Hawks are the defending champions of GT20.

Winners by Year –

1Vancouver KnightsCricket West Indies B2018
2Winnipeg HawksVancouver Knights2019

Player Records –

JP Duminy has scored the most runs in the history of GT20. He has scored 332 runs at an average of 83 with a massive strike rate of 167.67. He was also awarded the player of the tournament in the previous season.

JP Duminy332
Heinrich Klaasen326
Shaiman Anwar296
Chris Lynn295
Rodrigo Thomas291
Chris Gayle277
Shoaib Malik213
Rassie Van Der Dussen208
Chadwick Walton198
Lendl Simmons177

Ish Sodhi has taken the most number of wickets in GT20 Canada. He has taken 12 wickets in 6 matches at an average of 14.58 and a strike rate of 11.

Ish Sodhi12
Chris Green11
Shadab Khan9
Rayad Emrit9
Ben Cutting8
Saad Bin Zafar8
Jeremy Gordon8
Zahoor Khan7
Hayden Walsh7
Daniel Sams7

Can the Global T20 Canada league become a top-rated league like IPL, BBL,PSL etc in the upcoming seasons?

Yes, GT20 Canada league has enough sponsorship and branding around the world courtesy Canada Cricket board and Bombay Sports Co.

 Also when a lot of big international stars play in this league, the popularity grows widely.

Can the Global T20 Canada league benefit the Canadain national team?

Yes, despite having only 4 local canadian players, Canada’s team can improve their level by playing with international superstars.

“We have a long-term vision that includes aiding in the development of a truly competitive Canadian national side. It is our goal that the Global T20 Canada League will produce a world class national team that reaches the quarter final round of the 2023 cricket world cup. This outcome will only occur if Canadian players are provided with international opportunities, which the global T20 Canada provides.” – says Mr Gurmeet Singh Founder and CEO of Bombay Sports Co.

One department where the GT20 Canada needs to improve on is the availability of overseas players. There are a lot of popular international stars in this league but most of them are either retired players or the one’s who aren’t currently representing their national teams.

Many T20 leagues around the world face this issue of non-availability of current international players to due national commitments. Hence, Canada Cricket board must choose an apt window on the basis of the availability of the majority of players.