Skip to content

IPL 2023: Rohit Sharma, Virat Kohli & Jasprit Bumrah Honored at “Incredible Premier League Awards”

Star Sports, the broadcaster of the 2023 IPL, celebrated the tournament’s 16th season with the “Incredible Premier League awards” to honor the outstanding performers in its history. The awards recognized the best captain, batter, and bowler, along with the players with the greatest impact, best batting performance, and best bowling performance.

The nominees for these categories included some remarkable players, making it a prestigious event for the IPL and its fans. Most prominent award winners were Rohit Sharma who was named as the Incredible Captain, Virat Kohli bags the Incredible Batter award while Jasprit Bumrah honored the Incredible Bowler in the history of the tournament.

Photo Courtesy: CricTelegraph / Twitter

Rohit Sharma Named Incredible Captain

Rohit Sharma, the captain of Mumbai Indians, was awarded the Best Captain award in the Incredible Premier League awards presented by Star Sports for the IPL’s 16th season. This award recognizes Rohit’s captaincy in leading Mumbai Indians to an unprecedented five IPL titles, surpassing MS Dhoni, the captain of Chennai Super Kings, who has led his team to four IPL titles. The awards also featured nominees in several other categories, including best batter, bowler, and players with the greatest impact, best batting performance, and best bowling performance.

Upon receiving the award, Rohit Sharma expressed his gratitude for the most number of votes he received for the Best Captain award and thanked the fans for their continued love and support for the Mumbai Indians franchise over the years.

Virat Kohli Bags The Incredible Batter In A Season

Virat Kohli’s extraordinary display during the 2016 IPL season earned him the “Incredible Batting Performance in a Season” award, surpassing the achievement of his fellow countryman Chris Gayle for the same team in 2011.

Kohli’s batting performance in the 2016 season was a stunning spectacle in cricket, leading the Royal Challengers Bangalore to the finals of the tournament while scoring an incredible 973 runs, including four centuries, which set the record for the most runs in a single IPL season.

Jasprit Bumrah gets Incredible Bowler In The History Of the Tournament

Jasprit Bumrah, the star fast bowler of the Mumbai Indians, was awarded the Best Bowler award, surpassing the performances of Kolkata Knight Riders‘ star bowler Sunil Narine. Bumrah’s strength lies in his exceptional skill in delivering toe-crushing yorkers in the death overs, which makes even easy chases for opponents seem like a challenging task.

He started his IPL career under the guidance of Lasith Malinga and has played a crucial role in the Mumbai Indians’ success over the years, establishing himself as one of the tournament’s biggest stars.

Other notable names during the awards were Ab de Villiers, Andre Russell, and Sunil Narine who were also recognized and awarded for their outstanding performances in the IPL. Ab de Villiers was awarded the Incredible Batter award, while Andre Russell was named the Incredible Impact Player, and Sunil Narine was honoured with the Incredible Bowler in a Single Season award.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram