Skip to content

Major League Cricket Teams Finalize Domestic Wildcard Picks

The six teams participating in Major League Cricket (MLC) have completed their rosters by selecting their tenth domestic-based players in the MLC Domestic Wildcard Draft. The draft, which took place on Monday, allows domestic players to join America’s new professional franchise cricket league, set to run from July 13 to July 30 in North Texas and North Carolina.

All six players chosen in the draft have previously competed in Minor League Cricket (MiLC), the leading pathway competition in the United States. Notably, four of the wildcard picks have represented the United States National Team in international matches.

The selection order followed the MLC Domestic Player Draft held in March, with the Texas Super Kings securing the first pick. They chose 27-year-old leg spin bowler Mohammad Mohsin, who impressed with 16 wickets for the Michigan Cricket Stars during the 2022 MiLC season. The Los Angeles Knight Riders had the second pick and selected experienced left-hand batter Gajanand Singh, a member of the United States National Team, who played for the Manhattan Yorkers in both the 2021 and 2022 MiLC seasons.

The San Francisco Unicorns made the third selection and added Amila Aponso to their roster. The former Sri Lankan international showcased his left-arm spin skills while playing for the Atlanta Fire in both the 2021 and 2022 MiLC seasons, securing an impressive tally of 39 wickets in 29 matches.

MI New York further strengthened their squad by choosing right-arm quick Jasdeep Singh with the fourth pick. The New Jersey native played a pivotal role in leading the New Jersey Stallions to the final of the 2021 MiLC season, and his performance in MiLC includes 28 wickets at an exceptional economy rate of 5.96.

The fifth pick belonged to the Washington Freedom, who opted for all-rounder Usman Rafiq. Rafiq made his debut for the United States National Team in 2018 and featured for the Houston Hurricanes in both the 2021 and 2022 MiLC seasons.

Finally, the Seattle Orcas completed the draft by selecting United States National Team all-rounder Nisarg Patel. Patel represented the Hollywood Master Blasters in the 2021 and 2022 MiLC seasons.

MLC promises an exciting display of cricket, with top-class international talent joining forces with America’s best players. The Los Angeles Knight Riders, MI New York, San Francisco Unicorns, Seattle Orcas, Texas Super Kings, and Washington Freedom will compete in a round-robin format, with the top four teams advancing to a multi-game playoff and final round. The champion of the inaugural MLC season will be crowned on July 30.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram