Super Smash Schedule 2022 for New Zealand T20 League, Match Dates, Teams and Venues

The Super Smash is New Zealand’s professional T20 league played every year. This tournament was started in the year 2005-06 by the New Zealand Cricket board and was called as the New Zealand Twenty20 Competition.

The Competition was renamed and rebranded several times and finally from the 2014-15 season, the tournament was named as Super Smash.

Indian fantasy cricket application – Dream 11, has signed a 6-year contract for the title sponsorship of Super Smash. Dream 11 was also the title sponsor of IPL 2020 ,when Vivo had pulled off for one particular season.

In the Season 2008-09 to 2013-14, the winner of the tournament had qualified for the Champions League (defunct currently).

Super Smash tournaments are generally played in the winter season during the December- January window. This league clashes with Australia’s Big Bash League.

The inaugural edition of Super Smash was won by the Canterbury Wizards. They defeat the Auckland Aces by 6 wickets in the inaugural final.

Four times champions Wellington Firebirds are the most successful team in Super Smash. They are also the defending champions as they beat the Canterbury Wizards by 5 wickets, courtesy the in-form batter Devon Conway’s unbeaten 93 runs in the final.

Currently, each team is allowed to pick a maximum of two overseas players in the playing 11.

The Super Smash tournament has produced a lot of players like Devon Convay, Glen Phillip, Fin Allen etc who went on to serve the New Zealand national team in recent times.

Finn Allen was the breakout star in the recently concluded Super Smash 2020-21 Season. He scored 512 runs of just 11 innings with a speedy strike rate of 193.33 and has shown glimpse of Brendon McCullum and Tim Seifert, who start off the innings with a bang straight away from the first ball.

His vital contributions with the bat has helped the Wellington Fires to win back-to-back seasons. After the season, he made his international debut for New Zealand against the Bangladesh Series. He went on to score a quickfire 21 ball 71 for New Zealand in a rain-curtailed match against Bangladesh. He has also been picked for the IPL’s Royal Challengers Bangalore side.

So far 16 editions of Super Smash have been played successful.The level of competition is very good as every team has won the championship at least once.

The 2020-21 season went on smoothly and crowds were allowed in the stadium because of the fact that New Zealand had very little COVID-19 cases.

The Upcoming season will be the 17th edition of Super Smash and will be played during 2021 December to 2022 – February. Defending champions Wellington Firebirds are once again favourites to win the title as they will be looking to make a hat trick of titles. While other teams will be aiming to get another title in their cabinet.

Format –

The tournament is played in a double-round robin format where each team plays the other twice. Each team plays 10 matches in the league stage. (5 at home and 5 away from home)

Points System –

For a Win – 4 points

For a loss – 0 points

For a No-result – 2 points

At the end of 30 league stage matches, the top-3 teams based on the points ranking will qualify for the Knockouts.

Knockouts –

Primarily Finals – The 2nd and 3rd ranked team will play the primarily Final. The winner of this match will qualify for the final, while the loser is knocked out of the tournament.

Final – The table topper of the group stage and the winner of Primary Final will battle out in the final to win the trophy.

Teams Participating in the Super Smash

A total of 6 teams participate in this league, they are:

1. Central Stags –

Captain :  Tom Bruce

Coach : Aldin Smith

Titles :3

Home Ground : McLean Park, Napier

Previous Season : Finished 2nd in the league stage and lost in the Primary Finals against Canterbury Kings

Top Performers (2020-21 Edition) – George Worker -424 runs at an average of 38.54, Will Young – 297 runs at strike rate of 174.70, Blair Tickner – 17 wickets at an average of 20.52

2. Auckland Aces

Captain : Robert O’Donnell

Coach : Heinrich Malan

Titles : 4

Home Ground : Eden Park Outer Oval, Auckland

Previous Season : Finished 5th in the group stage

Top Performers (2020-21 Edition) :  Sean Solia- 266 runs at a strike rate of 135.24, William Somerville – 12 wickets at an average of 24.83

3. Otago Volts

Captain : Jacob Duffy

Coach : Rob Walter

Titles : 2

Home Ground : University Oval

Previous Season : Finished 6th in the group stage

Top Performers (2020-21 Edition) : N Broom – 292 runs at strike-rate of 137.08, Mitchell McClenaghan – 12 wickets at an average of 29.33

4. Northern Knights –

Captain :  Anton Devcich

Coach : Graeme Aldridge

Titles : 2

Home Ground : Seddon Park, Hamilton

Previous Season : Finished 4th in the group stage

Top Performers (2020-21 Edition) : Anton Devcich – 286 runs at a strike-rate of 169.23, Scott Kuggeleijn – 12 wickets at an average of 25.33

5. Canterbury Kings

Captain : Cole McConchie

Coach : Peter Fulton

Titles : 1

Home Ground :  Hagley Oval, Christchurch

Previous Season : Runners-up

Top – Performers [2020-21 season] : Daryl Mitchell – 374 runs at an average of 37.40, Cole McConchie – 298 runs at an average of 37.25, Matt Henry – 14 wickets at an average of 24.64

6. Wellington Firebirds –

Captain : Michael Bracewell

Coach : Glenn Pocknall

Titles : 4

Home Ground : Basin Reserve, Wellington

Previous Season : Winners

Top Performers [2020-21 season] : Finn Allen – 512 runs at an average of 56.88,  Devon Conway – 455 runs at an average of 65, Donny Van de Beek – 13 wickets at an economy rate of 7.78, Jimmy Neesham – 12 wickets at an average of 17.59.

Winners Per Season –.

1Canterbury WizardAuckland Aces2005-06
2Auckland AcesOtago Volts2006-07
3Central StagsNorthern Knights2007-08
4Otago VoltsCanterbury Wizards2008-09
5Central StagsAuckland Aces2009-10
6Auckland AcesCentral Stags2010-11
7Auckland AcesCanterbury Wizards2011-12
8Otago VoltsWellington Firebirds2012-13
9Northern KnightsOtago Volts2013-14
10Wellington FirebirdsAuckland Aces2014-15
11Auckland AcesOtago Volts2015-16
12Wellington FirebirdsCentral Stags2016-17
13KnightsCentral Stags2017-18
14Central StagsKnights2018-19
15Wellington FirebirdsAuckland Aces2019-20
16Wellington FirebirdsCanterbury Kings2020-21

Top-10 Run getters

George Worker has scored the most runs in the history of Super Smash. He has scored 2777 runs at an average of 29.23 at a decent strike rate of 127.68.

1. George Worker2777
2. Neil Broom2661
3. Anton Devcich2104
4. Rob Nicol2020
5. Anaru Kitchen1970
6. Daryl Mitchell1930
7. Dean Brownlie1922
8. Hamish Rutherford1889
9. Will Young1703
10. Michael Bracewell1693

Top-10 Wicket-takers

Andrew Ellis has taken the most wickets in the Super Smash tournament. He has taken 109 from 100 matches at an average of 22.70.

1. Andrew Ellis109
2. Ronnie Hira99
3. Jacob Duffy83
4. Scott Kiggeleijn80
5. Blair Tickner79
6. Seth Rance76
7. Tarun Netula76
8. Brent Arnel76
9. Luke Woodcock76
10. Michael Bates73