Skip to content

Bangladesh Announces Squad Resting Key Players for New Zealand ODI Series

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced its 15-member squad for the first two ODIs against New Zealand, opting to rest several key players to carefully manage their workload ahead of the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023.

With an eye on the long and demanding World Cup ahead, Bangladesh has taken a cautious approach by resting prominent players for the initial ODIs against New Zealand. Shakib Al Hasan, one of the team’s stalwarts, will be among those missing in action, while other notable absentees include Mushfiqur Rahim, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taskin Ahmed, Hasan Mahmud, and Shoriful Islam.

Litton Das has been entrusted with the captaincy in the absence of Shakib Al Hasan, while the squad will still boast plenty of experience. Players like Tamim Iqbal, Mahmud Ullah, Soumya Sarkar, and Nurul Hasan Sohan are all set to return to the fold.

Adding a touch of excitement to the lineup, Bangladesh has called up three uncapped players – Zakir Hasan, Khaled Ahmed, and leg-spinner Rishad Hossain. These promising talents may earn their debut caps during the upcoming ODI series against New Zealand.

Notably, Naim Sheikh, Afif Hossain, and Shamim Hossain have been left out of the squad after their participation in the Asia Cup.

Minhajul Abedin, Chairman of the National Selection Panel, shed light on the squad selection, stating, “The decision to rest players was taken in consideration of the World Cup in India, which will be a long tournament where ensuring the mental and physical fitness of the cricketers will be very important.”

“The series against New Zealand provides us an opportunity to take a look at some other players as well ahead of this major event,” Abedin continued.

“The squad is a blend of experience and youth, and only Zakir, Khaled, and Rishad have not featured in ODIs yet. Zakir was very close to playing against Ireland in March before he suffered an unfortunate injury. Khaled has done well in his list A career, and Rishad offers a different dimension to our bowling attack,” Abedin concluded.

Bangladesh Squad (for the first two ODIs):

Litton Das (captain), Tamim Iqbal, Soumya Sarkar, Anamul Haque, Tawhid Hridoy, Mahmud Ullah, Nurul Hasan Sohan, Mahedi Hasan, Nasum Ahmed, Mustafizur Rahman, Tanzim Hasan, Tanzid Hasan, Zakir Hasan, Rishad Hossain, Khaled Ahmed.


All matches will be played at Sher-e-Bangla National Cricket Stadium in Mirpur.

1st ODI: 21 September 

2nd ODI: 23 September 

3rd ODI: 26 September

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram