Skip to content

ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 Schedule Announced with 41 Matches Hosted by Sri Lanka

ICC has announced the fixture and schedule for the prestigious ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup 2024 featuring 41 ODI matches including semi finals and finals. Hosted by Sri Lanka, the 15th edition of the tournament is set to take place from January 13 to February 4, 2024, marking the first time since 2006 that the island nation has welcomed the future stars of world cricket.

Revamped Format and Key Details

A total of sixteen teams will compete for the coveted trophy across 41 matches, showcasing the immense talent and potential of young cricketers from around the globe. The tournament will be held at five venues in Colombo, including the P. Sara Oval, Colombo Cricket Club, Nondescripts Cricket Club, Singhalese Sports Club, and the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, which has been chosen to host both semi-finals on January 30 and February 1, as well as the grand final on February 4.

The action-packed event kicks off on January 13 with three exciting fixtures. Hosts Sri Lanka will face Zimbabwe at the R Premadasa International Cricket Stadium, while 2022 finalists England will clash with Scotland at Colombo Cricket Club. In another thrilling match, New Zealand will take on Nepal at the P. Sara Oval.

Top Teams and Groups

In a revised format introduced for this edition, teams advancing from the group stages will enter a new Super Six stage, starting on January 24. During this phase, two groups of six teams will compete to determine the semi-finalists and the ultimate finalists.

The group listings feature some of the cricketing powerhouses. Defending champions India are joined by Bangladesh, Ireland, and the United States in Group A. Group B comprises England, South Africa, West Indies, and Scotland. Group C features Australia, Sri Lanka, Zimbabwe, and Namibia, while Group D consists of Afghanistan, Pakistan, New Zealand, and Nepal.


Group AGroup BGroup CGroup D
BangladeshSouth AfricaSri LankaPakistan
IrelandWest IndiesZimbabweNew Zealand 

Historical Significance and Promising Talents

The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has a rich history of introducing future cricket stars to global audiences. Renowned players like Virat Kohli, Steve Smith, Kane Williamson, and Angelo Mathews have all made their mark on the world stage through this tournament.

Chris Tetley, ICC Head of Events, expressed his excitement, stating, “The ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup has a long-standing history of introducing global audiences to future stars of the sport. We are thrilled to see the competition return to Sri Lanka for the first time since 2006, in what promises to be a festival of cricket with no shortage of entertainment.”

Tournament Director Samantha Dodanwela added, “With so much to look forward to, we have no doubt that the event will help showcase Sri Lanka as an ideal destination for cricket.”

As the world eagerly anticipates this thrilling showcase of young cricketing talent, each competing team will have the opportunity to prepare through two warm-up matches held across four of the five tournament venues. Sri Lanka, the host nation, is particularly eager to perform well, hoping to surpass their previous best finish when they were runners-up to India in the 2000 final.

With a history of producing some of the most recognizable stars in the game, the ICC U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup is a springboard for future cricket legends. India leads the way with five U19 Men’s Cricket World Cup titles, followed by Australia with three, Pakistan with two, and England, Bangladesh, South Africa, and West Indies, each with one title to their name.

Also See:

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram