Skip to content

List of All IPL Winners Till Date [2008 – 2023]

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has grown into one of the most exciting and highly anticipated cricket tournaments since its inception in 2008. With a blend of international stars and emerging local talent, the IPL schedule has provided a unique platform for cricketers worldwide to showcase their skills. Let’s take a walk down memory lane and reminisce about the champions of each season and their memorable performances.

2008 – Rajasthan Royals

The inaugural season of the IPL saw the Rajasthan Royals, led by Australian great Shane Warne, emerge as the surprise winners. Known for their teamwork and strategic approach, the Royals showcased exceptional performances from players like Yusuf Pathan and Shane Watson, culminating in a thrilling last-ball victory over Chennai Super Kings in the final.

2009 – Deccan Chargers

The second edition of the IPL, held in South Africa due to security concerns in India, saw the Deccan Chargers lift the trophy. Under the captaincy of Adam Gilchrist, the Chargers turned their fortunes around after a poor first season. Stellar performances from RP Singh, who was the leading wicket-taker, and Herschelle Gibbs propelled the team to victory over Royal Challengers Bangalore in a nail-biting final.

2010 & 2011 – Chennai Super Kings

Dominating the IPL in back-to-back seasons, Chennai Super Kings, captained by the cool and composed MS Dhoni, etched their name in IPL history. With a powerful batting lineup featuring Suresh Raina and Michael Hussey, along with the spin wizardry of R Ashwin, the Super Kings were a force to be reckoned with. CSK have played most number of Finals in the history of the IPL.

2012 & 2014 – Kolkata Knight Riders

The Kolkata-based franchise, co-owned by Bollywood superstar Shah Rukh Khan, won their first title in 2012 under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir. The team’s success was built on the back of exceptional performances from Sunil Narine, who bamboozled opponents with his spin bowling. They repeated their feat in 2014 with contributions from Robin Uthappa, who emerged as the leading run-scorer, and the young mystery spinner Kuldeep Yadav.

2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 & 2020 – Mumbai Indians

Arguably the most successful IPL franchise, Mumbai Indians have lifted the trophy an impressive five times under the leadership of Rohit Sharma. The team boasted a mix of experienced players like Lasith Malinga and Kieron Pollard, along with young talents like Jasprit Bumrah and Hardik Pandya. Their consistency and ability to handle high-pressure situations set them apart from other teams.

2016 – Sunrisers Hyderabad

The 2016 season witnessed a new champion in Sunrisers Hyderabad, led by Australian David Warner. The team’s success was built on the back of a strong bowling attack featuring Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who was the highest wicket-taker, and young Bangladeshi sensation Mustafizur Rahman. Warner himself was in sublime form, ending the season as the leading run-scorer.

2018 & 2021 – Chennai Super Kings

After serving a two-year ban, the Chennai Super Kings made a triumphant return to the IPL, winning their third title in 2018. Under Dhoni’s astute captaincy, the team boasted a well-balanced side with notable contributions from Ambati Rayudu, Dwayne Bravo, and Deepak Chahar. In 2021, the Super Kings once again proved their dominance, with young opener Ruturaj Gaikwad and all-rounder Moeen Ali playing pivotal roles in their title-winning campaign.

2022 – Gujarat Titans

The newest entrant in the IPL, Gujarat Titans, made an immediate impact by winning the title in their debut season. Led by the dynamic Hardik Pandya, the Titans showcased a blend of experience and youth that proved to be a winning formula. Key performances from the likes of Shubman Gill, Lockie Ferguson, and Rashid Khan played a crucial role in their successful campaign, culminating in a thrilling victory over the Kolkata Knight Riders in the final.

2023 – TBC

The year 2023 brings new excitement to IPL fans in India and around the world. The IPL is scheduled from March 31 with final match scheduled at Sunday May 28, 203. Four top teams based on the points table will proceed to IPL Playoffs. It will be interesting to see which team becomes the 2023 IPL champion this year.

IPL Winners List by Year

2023TBC [download IPL Schedule here]
2022Gujarat Titans
2021Chennai Super Kings
2020Mumbai Indians
2019Mumbai Indians
2018Chennai Super Kings
2017Mumbai Indians
2016Sunrisers Hyderabad
2015Mumbai Indians
2014Kolkata Knight Riders
2013Mumbai Indians
2012Kolkata Knight Riders
2011Chennai Super Kings
2010Chennai Super Kings
2009Deccan Chargers
2008Rajasthan Royals

Teams without IPL Title win so far

In IPL’s 15 years since its inception, following teams are still without IPL title win till date:

  1. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)
  2. Delhi Capitals (earlier known as Delhi Daredevils)
  3. Punjab Kings (earlier known as Kings XI Punjab)

In conclusion, the IPL has been a platform for numerous memorable performances and fierce competition throughout its history. Each season has brought excitement and suspense, with different teams showcasing their unique strengths and strategies. As we look forward to future editions of the IPL, one can only expect more thrilling encounters and unforgettable moments in this incredible tournament.