Skip to content

IND vs NZ 1st ODI: Hardik Pandya given out in controversial circumstances in 1st ODI against New Zealand

Hardik Pandya was given out in debatable circumstances (Disney+ Hotstar)

In the first ODI match between India and New Zealand on January 18th, Indian all-rounder Hardik Pandya had a strong performance, scoring 28 runs. However, his dismissal caused confusion and debate among fans and commentators.

The dismissal occurred when New Zealand’s Daryl Mitchell delivered a ball that beat Pandya’s bat and the bails fell. New Zealand appealed and the umpire referred the decision to the third umpire. Replays showed that the bails might have fallen due to the ball hitting the stumps, but the side-on angle indicated that the bails had not fallen until the ball was received by the keeper.

Commentator Ravi Shastri disagreed with the decision, stating that there was a clear gap between the ball and the bails. He also noted that the ball looked to be at least an inch or inch-and-a-half above the stumps, and that the red light on the bails had only come on after the ball had been caught by the keeper.

Oh, it’s been given out! Daryl Mitchell should be happy,” Shastri said. “Should really be happy, because that, if you take a look again as to where the keeper’s gloves are, where the ball is as it passes the stumps, it looked as if the ball was at least an inch, inch-and-a-half above the stumps … Ball clearly looks to be above the bail. You can see as it goes past into the gloves, there’s no red light, it’s only after that. There you go. From that angle, you can see that the gloves are closer to the bails than the ball.”

The decision was considered controversial and unfortunate, as it came at a time when none of the Indian players had made a significant impact in the game, except for Shubman Gill who had a strong performance.

​

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram