Skip to content

MCC changes the law for non-striker run-out to remove “ambiguity” after Adam Zampa’s incident

Adam Zampa tried to run out the non-striker Tom Rogers in a BBL game (cricket.com.au)

The MCC has announced that it is changing the wording of the law regarding running out a batter at the non-striker’s end, in order to remove any ambiguity and confusion. The change comes in the wake of an incident involving Australian spinner Adam Zampa in the Big Bash League (BBL). During a match between the Melbourne Stars and Melbourne Renegades, Zampa attempted to run out non-striker Tom Rogers but the batsman was given not out by the 3rd umpire, much to the embarrassment of the off-spinner.

On Thursday, the MCC released a statement on the BBL incident, and said the umpires had taken the correct decision. The MCC, however, added that the ambiguity in the wording of the law could have led to the confusion. “We acknowledge that while this Law has generally been understood well by players and umpires, there is ambiguity in the wording which could lead to confusion. MCC has therefore moved to change the wording of Law 38.3 to deliver better clarity,” the statement said.

As Zampa completed his follow-through and was about to release the ball to Mackenzie Harvey, he turned back and dislodged Rogers’s bails, signaling to the umpire to give marching orders to the batter. However, the umpire referred the dismissal to the TV umpire. The third umpire ruled that Zampa’s arm had gone past the ‘vertical’ or the highest point, from where the ball is deemed to have been released.

The new law reads: “38.3.1 At any time from the moment the ball comes into play until the instant when the bowler would normally have been expected to release the ball, the non-striker is liable to be run out if he/she is out of his/her ground. In these circumstances the non-striker will be out run out if he/she is out of his/her ground when his/her wicket is put down by the bowler throwing the ball at the stumps or by the bowler’s hand holding the ball, whether or not the ball is subsequently delivered.

​

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram