Skip to content

Afghanistan’s ODI Squad for Bangladesh Series; Rashid Khan makes comeback

Afghanistan’s star spinner Rashid Khan is set to make his return to the ODI squad for the upcoming three-match series against Bangladesh, which is scheduled to begin on July 5. After taking a much-needed rest during the one-off Test against Bangladesh, Rashid is eager to contribute to his team’s success once again. However, young sensation Noor Ahmad, who featured in the recent ODI series against Sri Lanka, has not been included in the squad.

Rashid was unable to participate in the first two ODIs of the Sri Lanka series due to a back issue. However, the 24-year-old spinner showcased sensational form in the recently concluded IPL 2023, where he emerged as the joint second-highest wicket-taker of the tournament, claiming 27 scalps. He also impressed with the bat, scoring 130 runs at an average of 32.50 and a strike rate of 216.66.

In contrast, Noor Ahmad enjoyed a successful season in IPL 2023, picking up 16 wickets in 13 innings at an economy rate of 7.82. However, he struggled to make an impact during the ODI series against Sri Lanka, managing just two wickets in two matches while conceding runs at an economy rate of 7.29.

Izharulhaq Naveed, an impressive spinner in the last Big Bash League, has earned his maiden ODI call-up. The squad also includes new names such as Shahidullah, Zia-ur-Rehman, Wafadar Momand, Mohammad Saleem, and Sayed Shirzad.

Additionally, the Afghanistan Cricket Board has announced a group of 10 reserve players who will be considered for future ODIs and the ODI World Cup 2023.

The highly-anticipated ODI series between Afghanistan and Bangladesh will commence on July 5 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. The teams will then face off in two T20Is, starting on July 14 at the Sylhet District Stadium in Sylhet.

Also See: Bangladesh vs Afghanistan Schedule, Match Dates, Timing and Venues

Afghanistan squad for Bangladesh ODIs: Hashmatullah Shahidi (capt), Rahmanullah Gurbaz, Ibrahim Zadran, Riaz Hassan, Rahmat Shah, Najibullah Zadran, Mohammad Nabi, Ikram Alikhil, Rashid Khan, Azmatullah Omarzai, Mujeeb Ur Rahman, Fazalhaq Farooqi, Abdul Rahman, Izharulhaq Naveed Shahidullah, Zia-ur-Rehman, Wafadar Momand, Mohammad Saleem, Sayed Shirzad

Afghanistan backup reserve: Karim Janat, Zubaid Akbari, Qais Ahmad, Ihsanullah Janat, Gulbadin Naib, Sharafuddin Ashraf, Naveen-ul-Haq, Farid Malik, Darwish Rasooli, Ishaq Rahimi

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram