Skip to content

Ajit Agarkar Appointed Chairman of India’s Senior Men’s Selection Committee by BCCI; Here’s the list of all Members

The BCCI has named former Indian cricketer Ajit Agarkar as the Chairman of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee. The BCCI released an official statement confirming Agarkar’s appointment, stating that the Cricket Advisory Committee (CAC), comprising Sulakshana Naik, Ashok Malhotra, and Jatin Paranjape, conducted interviews for the selector position. Following unanimous agreement, Agarkar’s name was recommended by the CAC for the role.

Agarkar’s vast experience and contribution to Indian cricket played a significant role in his selection as the Chairman. With over 191 One Day International (ODI) appearances, Agarkar has taken an impressive 288 wickets, maintaining an economical bowling rate of 5.07. In Test cricket, he featured in 26 matches, claiming 58 wickets with an economy rate of 3.39. Agarkar also had successful stints with the Delhi Daredevils (now Delhi Capitals) and the Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR) in the Indian Premier League (IPL).

Apart from his bowling prowess, Agarkar showcased his batting abilities on several occasions. Notably, he etched his name on the Lord’s Honor Board with a century against England in 2002. Additionally, Agarkar held the record for the fastest half-century in ODIs for India, achieving the feat in just 21 balls against Zimbabwe in 2000. He also broke Dennis Lillee’s record for reaching 50 ODI wickets in the fewest matches, achieving the milestone in his 23rd ODI.

Taking on this new role as Chairman of the Senior Men’s Selection Committee, Agarkar aims to contribute to the development and success of Indian cricket. His appointment follows the departure of former cricketer Chetan Sharma, who was relieved of his duties after a sting operation controversy.

The newly formed Men’s Selection Committee comprises Ajit Agarkar as Chairperson, along with Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, and Sridharan Sharath. The committee’s recommendations were based on seniority, considering the total number of Test matches played by the members.

India Men’s Selection Committee: Ajit Agarkar (Chairperson), Shiv Sundar Das, Subroto Banerjee, Salil Ankola, Sridharan Sharath.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram