Skip to content

Ashes Schedule 2023 Match Fixtures, Dates, Squads and Venues

This year’s fixture of Ashes Schedule 2023 begins on Friday June 16 at Edgbaston, Birmingham and ends with the fifth and final Test match on Thursday July 7 at Kennington Oval, London. The Ashes schedule of Australia vs England is a historic series organized by ECB and Cricket Australia. This year Australia tour of England 2023 consists of five Test matches as usual hosted by England during Jun-Jul 2023 period. Below is the list of all matches fixtures along with match timings in local, GMT and EST (Eastern Standard Time), venues and match reports.

The Ashes Schedule – 5 Test Matches

Jun 16, Fri – Jun 20, TueEngland vs Australia, 1st Test6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local
Edgbaston, Birmingham
Jun 28, Wed – Jul 02, SunEngland vs Australia, 2nd Test6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local
Lord’s, London
Jul 06, Thu – Jul 10, MonEngland vs Australia, 3rd Test6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local
Headingley, Leeds
Jul 19, Wed – Jul 23, SunEngland vs Australia, 4th Test6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local
Emirates Old Trafford, Manchester
Jul 27, Thu – Jul 31, MonEngland vs Australia, 5th Test6am EST | 10am GMT | 11am Local
Kennington Oval, London

Ashes ScheduleMatch Dates, Timing & Venues

Ashes TicketsBook Online Tickets

Add to Calendar+ iCal / Outlook / Google

The Ashes – Overview and Historic Significance

In 2023, The Ashes is a highly anticipated 5-match test series between the two oldest test playing nations, England and Australia. The upcoming Ashes 2023 will take place in England, and the schedule includes matches at five venues: Birmingham, London (Lord’s / Oval), Leeds and Manchester. However, Indian viewers may find it a bit awkward to follow the series due to the significant time difference between India and England, with fixtures beginning at 3.30 pm Indian Standard Time going late into the day.

The Ashes series has been going on for 130 years, with the first series played in 1882-83 in England and won by Australia. To date, there have been 311 Ashes test matches, with Australia winning 120, England winning 103, and 88 being draws. Currently, England holds the Ashes series title.

Top Performance during The Ashes between England and Australia

There have been many significant performances in the long history of the Ashes between England and Australia. Here are some of the most noteworthy ones:

  1. Jim Laker’s 19 wickets in a match – In the 1956 Ashes series at Old Trafford, Jim Laker took 19 wickets in the match, which still stands as the record for the most wickets taken by a single bowler in a Test match.
  2. Ian Botham’s all-round heroics – In the 1981 Ashes series, Ian Botham produced one of the greatest all-round performances in Test history. He scored 399 runs and took 34 wickets, leading England to an improbable victory in the series.
  3. Don Bradman’s 974 runs – In the 1930 Ashes series, Don Bradman scored a record-breaking 974 runs at an average of 139.14, which is still the highest aggregate for a Test series.
  4. Shane Warne’s “Ball of the Century” – In the 1993 Ashes series, Shane Warne delivered his famous “Ball of the Century” to dismiss Mike Gatting. The ball turned sharply and Gatting was left completely bamboozled.
  5. Bob Willis’ 8-43 – In the 1981 Ashes series, Bob Willis produced a stunning spell of fast bowling to take 8-43 and help England win the third Test. It remains one of the greatest spells of fast bowling ever seen in Test cricket.
  6. Len Hutton’s 364 – In the 1938 Ashes series, Len Hutton scored an incredible 364, which was the highest individual score in Test cricket at the time.
  7. Steve Waugh’s 200 – In the 1997 Ashes series, Steve Waugh scored a double century at Headingley, which helped Australia win the Test and retain the Ashes.
  8. Harold Larwood’s bodyline bowling – In the 1932-33 Ashes series, England’s Harold Larwood used controversial bodyline bowling tactics to great effect, which resulted in a fierce on-field battle between the two sides.
  9. Michael Vaughan’s 633 runs – In the 2002-03 Ashes series, Michael Vaughan scored 633 runs at an average of 63.3, which was instrumental in England winning the series.
  10. Dennis Lillee’s 7-83 – In the 1981 Ashes series, Dennis Lillee took 7-83 to help Australia win the fourth Test and level the series.
  11. Jack Hobbs’ 211 – In the 1928-29 Ashes series, Jack Hobbs scored a brilliant 211 in the fifth Test to help England win the match and retain the Ashes.
  12. Glenn McGrath’s 8-38 – In the 1997 Ashes series, Glenn McGrath took 8-38 to help Australia win the second Test at Lord’s.
  13. Len Braund’s 10 wickets – In the 1902 Ashes series, Len Braund took 10 wickets in the match to help England win the third Test and eventually win the series.
  14. Andrew Flintoff’s all-round heroics – In the 2005 Ashes series, Andrew Flintoff scored 402 runs and took 24 wickets, which was instrumental in England winning the series.
  15. Bill Ponsford’s 266 – In the 1934 Ashes series, Bill Ponsford scored 266 in the third Test, which helped Australia win the match and retain the Ashes.

2023 Ashes Venues

The England vs Australia Test series will be played at five venues, with the first match taking place from June 16 to June 20 at Edgbaston in Birmingham. The second match will be held at Lord’s in London from June 28 to July 2, followed by the third match at Headingley in Leeds from July 6 to July 10. The fourth match will be played at Emirates Old Trafford in Manchester from July 19 to July 23, with the final match scheduled for July 27 to July 31 at Kennington Oval in London. All matches will begin at 6am EST, 10am GMT, and 11am local time.

2023 Ashes Tickets Booking

The 2023 Ashes tickets booking has started across five venues in UK including Edgbaston, Lord’s, Headingley, Emirates Old Trafford, Kennington Oval. The series is set to bring back the tradition of full capacity stadiums, allowing cricket fans to experience the thrilling action live. The series will feature five Test matches between Australia and England, two dominant teams in cricket. The matches will be held in Birmingham, London, Leeds, and Manchester, giving fans the opportunity to support their favorite teams. Tickets for the Ashes matches can be booked online, and spectators can choose to watch either the aggressive and disciplined Australian team or the resilient and tactically skilled English side.