Skip to content

Ashwin becomes the highest wicket-taker in Border-Gavaskar Trophy history

Ravichandran Ashwin | Photo ICC

Indian spinner Ravichandran Ashwin achieved a historic milestone in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy against Australia when he became the highest wicket-taker in the series’ history during the fourth and final Test at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad.

In the first innings, Ashwin spun his magic on a pitch that did not offer much help to spinners, taking 6/91 in 47.2 overs. He dismissed key players like Travis Head, Cameron Green, Alex Carey, Mitchell Starc, Nathan Lyon, and Todd Murphy.

Ashwin now has 113 wickets in 22 matches at an average of 28.10 and an economy rate of 2.71. He is followed by Nathan Lyon, who is the joint-highest wicket-taker in the series with 113 wickets. However, Lyon took 26 matches to achieve this number, with an average of 31.92 and an economy rate of 3.09.

Ashwin holds the record for the most number of five-wicket hauls in India by any bowler, with 26 in total. His overall five-wicket hauls count stands at 32, which is the fifth-highest in Test cricket history. Sri Lankan spin wizard Mutthiah Muralidaran holds the record for the highest number of Test five-wicket hauls with 67.

In the ongoing edition of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy, Ashwin is the highest wicket-taker, having taken 24 wickets in four matches with the best figures of 6/91.

In the match, Australia scored 480 runs in their first innings, with Usman Khawaja and Cameron Green scoring centuries. Khawaja faced the most number of balls by an Australian batter in India against India, with a total of 422 balls. Nathan Lyon and Todd Murphy’s late partnership of 70 runs for the ninth wicket also troubled the hosts.

Ashwin, Mohammed Shami, Jadeja, and Axar Patel took wickets for India, while their first innings are currently in progress.

Full Scorecard: India vs Australia Match Scorecard Today

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram