Skip to content

Australia announces 18-player squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023

Australia has announced their preliminary 18-player squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup in India. The preliminary World Cup squad for Australia is led by the seasoned cricketer Pat Cummins, who will take on the captaincy responsibilities.

The announcement, made by Cricket Australia, has raised eyebrows with the inclusion of uncapped leg-spinner Tanveer Sangha and relatively inexperienced all-rounder Aaron Hardie in the lineup. The squad’s composition has also sparked discussions due to the omission of Test star Marnus Labuschagne.

The selected players for this crucial tournament include Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, and Adam Zampa.

The surprise inclusions of Tanveer Sangha and Aaron Hardie highlight Australia’s strategic approach to diversify their bowling and all-round options for the tournament. Sangha’s uncapped status hasn’t deterred the selectors from recognizing his potential as a leg-spinning asset. Hardie, although less experienced, is expected to bring versatility to the team with his all-round abilities.

However, the most striking aspect of the squad announcement is the absence of Marnus Labuschagne. The Test sensation, known for his exceptional batting skills, will not be part of Australia’s World Cup campaign this time. This omission has stirred speculation and debate within the cricket community.

Australia’s remarkable history in ODI cricket makes them a formidable force to reckon with in the upcoming World Cup. They hold the record for being the most successful team in ODI history, boasting a winning percentage of over 60%. Their illustrious journey includes a remarkable seven World Cup final appearances (in 1975, 1987, 1996, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015), out of which they have secured the championship title five times (in 1987, 1999, 2003, 2007, and 2015).

Another astonishing feat that sets Australia apart is their unique achievement of appearing in four consecutive World Cup finals, a feat achieved in 1996, 1999, 2003, and 2007. This surpasses the previous record of three consecutive appearances held by the West Indies (in 1975, 1979, and 1983). Moreover, Australia remains the first and only team to clinch three consecutive World Cup victories (in 1999, 2003, and 2007).

The team’s impressive record extends beyond World Cup triumphs. They have emerged victorious in the ICC Champions Trophy twice, in 2006 and 2009. This achievement solidifies their standing as the first and only team to secure back-to-back titles in the Champions Trophy tournaments.

Australia’s journey in ODIs encompasses an astounding 978 matches, of which they have triumphed in 594, faced defeat in 341, tied in 9, and encountered 34 no-results. As they gear up for the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023, the cricketing world eagerly awaits to witness Australia’s prowess once again on the global stage.

Australia’s preliminary World Cup squad: Pat Cummins (c), Sean Abbott, Ashton Agar, Alex Carey, Nathan Ellis, Cameron Green, Aaron Hardie, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Josh Inglis, Mitchell Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Tanveer Sangha, Steve Smith, Mitchell Starc, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram