Skip to content

Bangladesh Squad for Afghanistan ODI series announced with comeback of Shakib Al Hasan

Photo Courtesy: BCBtigers

Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) has announced a formidable 15-man squad for the upcoming One-Day International (ODI) series against Afghanistan. The highly anticipated three-match series is set to kick off on July 5 at the Zahur Ahmed Chowdhury Stadium in Chattogram. Interestingly, all three matches of the series will be held at the same venue.

One of Bangladesh’s star all-rounders, Shakib Al Hasan, has made a comeback to the squad after missing the one-off Test against Afghanistan due to a finger injury sustained during the ODI series against Ireland in May. The 36-year-old is an important addition to the team, bringing his wealth of experience and skill to the field.

The Bangladesh team will be aiming to extend their winning streak in the 50-over format, following their recent victories against India and Ireland. The team showed exceptional form and determination during these matches, demonstrating their prowess and ability to compete at the highest level.

Prior to the series against Afghanistan, Bangladesh engaged in a series of matches against Ireland, including a T20I series, a one-off Test, and an ODI series. While the limited-overs series took place in Bangladesh, the one-off Test and ODI series were played in the United Kingdom. The Tamim Iqbal-led side emerged victorious in the entire series against Ireland, showcasing their dominance across formats.

The Bangladesh-Afghanistan encounter began with a one-off Test, where the Litton Das-led side emerged triumphant with a commanding 546-run victory. In the opening innings, Bangladesh scored a solid 382 runs, fueled by Najmul Hossain Shanto’s brilliant century. Ebadot Hossain shone with the ball, taking four wickets and restricting the visitors to a mere 146 runs in their first innings.

Continuing their dominance, Shanto registered another century in the second innings, well supported by Mominul Haque’s ton. Bangladesh declared their innings at 425 on Day 3, setting a monumental target of 662 runs for Afghanistan. Taskin Ahmed took charge with an impressive four-wicket haul, restricting the Hashmatullah Shahidi-led side to a mere 115 runs, securing a resounding 546-run victory. This triumph marked one of the largest victories ever recorded in Test cricket.

The three-match ODI series against Afghanistan will be followed by an equally thrilling three-match T20I series.

Bangladesh Squad:

Tamim Iqbal (c), Litton Das, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Towhid Hridoy, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Taskin Ahmed, Ebadot Hossain, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Shoriful Islam, Afif Hossain, Mohammad Naim

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram