Skip to content

Big Bash 2023: Perth Scorchers clinch BBL final for 5th time, beating Brisbane Heat in nail-biting final 

Perth Scorchers win their 5th BBL title (BBL Twitter)

The Perth Scorchers dominated the Big Bash League (BBL) season finale with a thrilling five-wicket victory against the Brisbane Heat at Perth Stadium on Saturday. The fifth-ranked Heat put up a valiant effort, posting 175-7 from their 20 overs after choosing to bat first. However, the reigning champions proved to be too strong and achieved their target of 178-5 with four balls remaining, making this their fifth title in the 12 editions of the BBL.

The Heat got off to a rocky start, as opener Josh Brown struggled to find his footing during Jason Behrendorff’s first over. However, just as Brown appeared to be settling in, he was caught out for 25 (12) by England seamer David Payne. McSweeney followed, executing a lap shot for six, but was eventually removed by Aaron Hardie in the 15th over. Despite losing several key players, Heat openers Sam Heazlett and Max Bryant provided some much-needed fireworks at the end of the innings.

In the chase, Perth Scorchers’ skipper Turner appeared to be leading his team to victory, scoring 53 from 32 balls, along with Josh Inglis who contributed 26. However, after both were dismissed in quick succession, the undermanned Brisbane Heat appeared to be in the driver’s seat. But 19-year-old Cooper Connolly stepped up to the plate, smashing two clutch sixes to reduce the target to 10 in the final over. Nick Hobson then sealed the victory with a six and four off Michael Neser, sending the record 53,886 fans into a frenzy.

Perth Scorchers’ dominance in the BBL was on full display in this nail-biting finale, as they extended their title reign to five. With exciting young talent like Cooper Connolly, the future of the BBL looks bright and full of potential.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram