Skip to content

ICC Cricket World Cup 2023: Match Officials Updated List Announced

The International Cricket Council (ICC) has unveiled the esteemed panel of match officials who will oversee the league stage of the tournament. Comprising a lineup of experienced umpires and match referees, this group will ensure that the world’s premier cricket event maintains the highest standards of fairness and professionalism.

A total of 20 match officials have been named for the league stage of the World Cup, with the officials for the semi-finals and final set to be announced as the tournament progresses. This illustrious panel includes 16 umpires and four match referees, all of whom have been meticulously selected to uphold the spirit of the game.

Impressively, 12 of the appointed officials belong to the prestigious Emirates Elite Panel of ICC Umpires, a testament to their exceptional competence and expertise. The Emirates Elite Panel members are as follows:

  1. Christopher Gaffaney (New Zealand)
  2. Kumar Dharmasena (Sri Lanka)
  3. Marais Erasmus (South Africa)
  4. Michael Gough (England)
  5. Nitin Menon (India)
  6. Paul Reiffel (Australia)
  7. Richard Illingworth (England)
  8. Richard Kettleborough (England)
  9. Rodney Tucker (Australia)
  10. Joel Wilson (West Indies)
  11. Ahsan Raza (Pakistan)
  12. Adrian Holdstock (South Africa)

The remaining four officials represent the ICC Emerging Umpire Panel, showcasing the organization’s commitment to nurturing and promoting new talent in the world of umpiring. These promising officials include:

  1. Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid (Bangladesh)
  2. Paul Wilson (Australia)
  3. Alex Wharf (England)
  4. Chris Brown (New Zealand)

An interesting note is that three of the umpires in this distinguished group—Dharmasena, Erasmus, and Tucker—officiated in the Cricket World Cup 2019 final, underscoring their remarkable consistency and track record. Notably, Aleem Dar, who was also part of the 2019 final, will not be present in this year’s World Cup after stepping down from the Elite Panel earlier this year.

The Emirates ICC Elite Panel of Match Referees for the event comprises Jeff Crowe (New Zealand), Andy Pycroft (Zimbabwe), Richie Richardson (West Indies), and Javagal Srinath (India). All four match referees are former international cricketers who bring a wealth of on-field experience to their roles.

The officials for the tournament opener between England and New Zealand on October 5 have already been announced, further building anticipation for the event. Kumar Dharmasena and Nitin Menon will serve as the on-field umpires, with Paul Wilson as the TV umpire and Sharfuddoula Ibne Shahid as the fourth umpire. Andy Pycroft will assume the role of match referee for this highly anticipated match.

Sean Easey, ICC Senior Manager – Umpires and Referees, expressed confidence in this elite group, stating, “We are pleased to announce the match officials who will be officiating at the biggest ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup ever.”

Wasim Khan, ICC General Manager – Cricket, echoed this sentiment, emphasizing the high standards upheld by this panel. “The ICC Elite panel of umpires, referees, and emerging group of umpires involved will bring immense skills, experience, and world-class standards to this World Cup.”

He also highlighted the significance of including ICC Emerging Panel members in the event, showcasing the organization’s commitment to nurturing the next generation of cricketing officials.

Also See:

Umpires: Kumar Dharmasena, Marais Erasmus, Chris Gaffaney, Michael Gough, Adrian Holdstock, Richard Illingworth, Richard Kettleborough, Nitin Menon, Ahsan Raza, Paul Reiffel, Sharfuddoula Ibne Shaid, Rod Tucker, Alex Wharf, Joel Wilson, Chris Brown, and Paul Wilson.

Match Referees: Jeff Crowe, Andy Pycroft, Richie Richardson and Javagal Srinath

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram