Skip to content

ICC World Cup Qualifier: Alasdair Evans and Adrian Neill return in Scotland 15-member squad

Cricket Scotland has announced the 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s World Cup Qualifier. The team is set to take the field in Zimbabwe, with the competition commencing on June 18.

Retaining the core of the team that secured the ICC Cricket World Cup League 2 title in February, Scotland has made some strategic changes for the upcoming tournament. Alasdair Evans and Adrian Neill are making a comeback, filling the spots left vacant by Liam Naylor and the recently retired Kyle Coetzer.

Evans, who was among the 14 contracted players for the 2023-2024 season announced last week, is poised to play his first ODI since 2021.

In a statement released by Cricket Scotland, Interim Head Coach Doug Watson spoke of the balance within the team. He acknowledged the valuable mix of experienced players such as Richie and George, alongside promising young talents like Jack Jarvis and Chris McBride.

Watson also expressed excitement about the opportunity awaiting the team in Zimbabwe. He emphasized that while the changing, spin-friendly conditions present a unique challenge, the key to success lies in the team’s ability to adapt and maintain their preferred style of play.

The team’s recent success in League 2 puts them in a favorable position as they approach the Qualifier. They will face off against nine other teams, all vying for two coveted spots in the Cricket World Cup scheduled for later this year.

The competition includes the bottom five teams from the Super League — West Indies, Sri Lanka, Ireland, Zimbabwe, and Netherlands — joining forces with the top three teams from League 2, namely Scotland, Oman, and Nepal. Play-off finalists United States and UAE are also set to participate in the Qualifier in Zimbabwe.

Scotland 15-member squad

Richie Berrington (captain), Matthew Cross, Alasdair Evans, Chris Greaves, Jack Jarvis, Michael Leask, Tom Mackintosh, Chris McBride, Brandon McMullen, George Munsey, Adrian Neill, Safyaan Sharif, Chris Sole, Hamza Tahir, Mark Watt.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram