Skip to content

IND vs AUS 1st test: India hand debuts to Suryakumar Yadav and KS Bharat; Shubman Gill left out

KS Bharat

Suryakumar Yadav will finally make his Test debut for the Indian cricket team, as he was presented with his cap by Ravi Shastri. Suryakumar will wear Cap No. 305, while Shubman Gill, who is in top form, will miss out on the Nagpur Test. KS Bharat will also be making his Test debut and was handed his cap.

There was much anticipation about Suryakumar’s Test debut, which was confirmed prior to the start of the match. Ravi Shastri, former coach of the Indian cricket team, joined the team huddle and presented Suryakumar with his cap. Suryakumar was part of the Indian squad during the tour of England in 2021, but was unable to make his debut due to the competition for spots in the team.

Suryakumar will wear Cap No. 305, while KS Bharat will wear Cap No. 304. Bharat will take the place of Rishabh Pant as wicketkeeper after Pant was injured in December.

It’s worth mentioning that Shubman Gill has scored five hundreds in all formats since December, but will not be in the Indian playing XI. Gill recently scored a double hundred in an ODI match and was in great form during the series against Sri Lanka and New Zealand. However, Gill’s absence means that KL Rahul will open the innings with Rohit Sharma, and Suryakumar will play in the middle order.

There was talk of Ishan Kishan being preferred over KS Bharat due to his batting credentials but India went with a conventional option in Bharat, who is the better keeper of the two. Bharat has been with the Indian team ever since Wriddhiman Saha was sidelined from the test side.

With Rishabh Pant being restored as the first-choice keeper, Bharat has been travelling with the Indian test side for the last couple of years as the second-choice gloveman. He made his debut for India A under current India head coach Rahul Dravid and represents Andhra in the Ranji Trophy.

In the bowling department, the only talking point was whether the management would go with Kuldeep Yadav or Axar Patel as the 3rd spinner. India have gone with the left-arm spin of Ashwin over Kuldeep even though the leg-spinner has a very good record against Australia.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram