Skip to content

IND vs AUS: Australia announce 18-man squad for 4-test series against India

Todd Murphy got his maiden call-up (ICC)

The upcoming Border-Gavaskar Trophy series against India, set to begin on February 9th, will see Australia fielding an 18-member squad. Uncapped fast bowler Lance Morris will retain his spot in the squad and has the potential to make his Test debut in India, as Mitchell Starc will only be available after the first Test match in Nagpur.

Rising star Todd Murphy, Mitchell Swepson, and Ashton Agar will compete for the chance to be Nathan Lyon’s spin partner. Peter Handscomb is set to make a Test comeback for the first time since January 2019 and will join Matt Renshaw on the reserve batter’s list, while Marcus Harris was not included in the squad.

“After a successful home summer the squad is excited by the challenge a Test tour to the subcontinent provides,” said chairman of selectors George Bailey.

“We have selected a squad that provides the depth and flexibility required to adapt depending on the conditions we may encounter.”

All-rounder Cameron Green also faces a race against time to be fit for the opening Test of the Border-Gavaskar trophy after sustaining an injury during the Boxing Day Test against South Africa. Murphy’s selection is based on his impressive performances for Victoria, Australia A, and the Prime Minister’s XI over the past year.

George Bailey, Chairman of the selection committee, said that Murphy has progressed quickly, having impressed on the domestic circuit and has emerged as a strong spin option. The tour will also provide the opportunity for the young spinner to spend time and learn from Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori.

“Todd Murphy has progressed quickly having impressed in domestic cricket and recently with Australia A. With those performances Todd has emerged as a strong spin option,” Selection Chair George Bailey said.

“Selection in this squad also provides another opportunity to spend time alongside Nathan Lyon and assistant coach Daniel Vettori in India which will be invaluable to his development.”

Australia Test squad for tour of India: Pat Cummins (c), Ashton Agar, Scott Boland, Alex Carey, Cameron Green, Peter Handscomb, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Usman Khawaja, Marnus Labuschagne, Nathan Lyon, Lance Morris, Todd Murphy, Matthew Renshaw, Steve Smith (vc), Mitchell Starc, Mitchell Swepson, David Warner.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram