Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 89

Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG_LOG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 91
India in ICC Cricket World Cup Final Matches: A Look at the Team India's Performances
Skip to content

India in ICC Cricket World Cup Final Matches: A Look at the Team India’s Performances

Team India (Photo: Twitter / ICC)

As India prepares to face Australia in the final of the ICC Cricket World Cup at Ahmedabad’s Narendra Modi Stadium, cricket fans around the nation are filled with nostalgia, excitement, and a strong desire for revenge. The showdown comes exactly twenty years after the five-time champions, Australia, defeated the Men in Blue by a significant margin of 125 runs in the final.

Over the years, the Cricket World Cup and other ICC events have brought both joy and heartbreak to India. It has often been the case that India has dominated the entire tournament but faced difficulties in the knockout stages and finals. However, this time around, India’s journey has been exceptional, going undefeated in ten consecutive games and securing a place in the final. Throughout this memorable run, the Men in Blue have excelled in every aspect of the game, be it batting, bowling, or fielding. Any occasional dip in one department has been balanced by top-notch performances in others.

Before the epic final showdown, let’s take a trip down memory lane and revisit India’s performances in previous World Cup finals:

1983 Cricket World Cup Final against West Indies, Lord’s, London

After two lackluster World Cup campaigns in 1975 and 1979, India’s improbable journey to the 1983 final in England shocked the cricketing world. On the other side stood the mighty West Indies, aiming for a hat-trick of World Cup titles. Although India had defeated West Indies in the league stage, the final was a much grander occasion, and India was considered the underdog.

In a low-scoring affair at the historic Lord’s cricket ground, India was bundled out for just 183 in 54.4 overs, with legendary West Indian bowlers such as Andy Roberts, Michael Holding, Joel Garner, and Malcolm Marshall dominating the Indian lineup. Kris Srikanth, Mohinder Amarnath, and Sandeep Patil made vital contributions with the bat.

However, India responded with a spirited bowling performance. Madan Lal and Mohinder Amarnath led the attack, each claiming three wickets. West Indies was bowled out for 140 runs, and India clinched their first-ever World Cup title, an achievement that would reshape the global cricket landscape.

2003 Cricket World Cup Final against Australia, Johannesburg

Twenty years after their historic win at Lord’s, India had another opportunity to claim World Cup gold, this time against the formidable, undefeated Australians. In the final at a packed Johannesburg, Australia, after being put in to bat first, did not provide any respite to the Indian team. Adam Gilchrist and Matthew Hayden set the stage with a century partnership. After their dismissals, India was subjected to a barrage of boundaries and sixes by captain Ricky Ponting and Damien Martyn.

Australia posted a massive total of 359/2 in 50 overs. In pursuit of 360, India faced an early setback as they lost the wicket of Sachin Tendulkar for just four runs. Despite a valiant effort from Virender Sehwag and captain Sourav Ganguly, India was bowled out for 234, losing by 125 runs, as Australia secured their second consecutive World Cup.

2011 Cricket World Cup Final against Sri Lanka, Mumbai

Eight years after a heartbreaking loss to Australia, India had the opportunity to redeem themselves on home soil. At the iconic Wankhede Stadium in Mumbai, Sri Lanka opted to bat first and set a target of 275 runs, thanks to a century by Mahela Jayawardene.

In the chase of 275, India faced early setbacks as Sachin Tendulkar and Virender Sehwag departed early. However, a partnership of 83 runs between Gautam Gambhir and Virat Kohli revived India’s hopes. Gambhir, who scored 97, and captain MS Dhoni, who promoted himself up the order, played memorable innings. Dhoni’s unbeaten 91, which included a towering six to seal the win, became an iconic moment in cricket history. India lifted the World Cup trophy after 28 years.

India squad: Rohit Sharma (c), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ravindra Jadeja, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ishan Kishan, Prasidh Krishna, Suryakumar Yadav.

Australia squad: Pat Cummins (c), Steve Smith, Alex Carey, Josh Inglis, Sean Abbott, Cameron Green, Josh Hazlewood, Travis Head, Marnus Labuschagne, Mitch Marsh, Glenn Maxwell, Marcus Stoinis, David Warner, Adam Zampa, Mitchell Starc.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram