Skip to content

India Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Announced

  • Indian squad for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup announced, led by Rohit Sharma and featuring potent mix of batting and bowling talents.
  • KL Rahul’s injury raises uncertainty, potential return during Asia Cup; Ishan Kishan secures wicketkeeping option.
  • Largest-ever World Cup with 10 teams across 10 venues; Semifinals and final with reserve days; Sri Lanka and Netherlands secure final two spots.

Indian cricket captain Rohit Sharma and BCCI chief selector Ajit Agarkar have announced Team India’s 15-member squad for the upcoming ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup. The announcement was made today at a press conference held in Kandy. The squad, which features some familiar faces from the recent Asia Cup campaign, includes notable inclusions and exclusions that have captured the attention of cricket enthusiasts worldwide.

Among the key highlights of the squad selection is the inclusion of KL Rahul, who has been nursing a thigh injury sustained during the IPL earlier this year. Despite his injury woes, Rahul’s dedication and hard work at the National Cricket Academy in Bengaluru have paid off, as he is set to join his teammates during the later stages of the Asia Cup in Sri Lanka. With Rahul’s return, the highly regarded Sanju Samson has unfortunately missed out on securing a spot in the World Cup squad.

The squad boasts a well-rounded mix of talented players, with the batting lineup led by the ever-capable Rohit Sharma. Joining Sharma are Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, and Ishan Kishan, who adds another dimension as a wicketkeeping option. The emphasis on versatility is clear, with a formidable contingent of all-rounders including Hardik Pandya, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Shardul Thakur.

On the bowling front, the pace attack will be spearheaded by the formidable Jasprit Bumrah, who has shown no lingering effects from his previous injury. Mohammed Shami and Mohammed Siraj are expected to form a formidable pace trio, while Kuldeep Yadav will lead the spin bowling department.

India’s team composition reflects a strategic approach to capitalize on batting depth and versatile bowling options. The selection committee has chosen four seamers – Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, and Mohammed Siraj – along with three spinners – Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, and Kuldeep Yadav – to ensure a balanced and dynamic playing XI.

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 is set to kick off on Thursday, October 5, with a high-profile clash between 2019 finalists England and New Zealand at the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. This marquee event will span from October 5 to November 19, featuring a total of 48 matches across 10 venues. The final will also be held at the Narendra Modi Stadium on Sunday, November 19.

India’s campaign in the tournament will begin on October 8 when they face off against Australia in Chennai. The competition features a diverse array of ten teams, marking the biggest Cricket World Cup ever. The matches will be played across various iconic cricketing venues, including Ahmedabad, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Hyderabad, Kolkata, Lucknow, Mumbai, and Pune.

Also See: India Cricket Schedule 2023/2024

Indian squad for World Cup: Rohit Sharma (Captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Ishan Kishan, Suryakumar Yadav, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Kuldeep Yadav, Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram