Skip to content

Indian Cricket Team Members Honored with ICC Team of the Year caps Ahead of T20 World Cup 2024

As the Indian cricket team gears up for the ICC T20 World Cup 2024 in the West Indies and the United States, several team members have been honored with prestigious ICC awards and Team of the Year caps in recognition of their stellar performances on the international stage.

World No. 1 T20I batter Suryakumar Yadav was a standout, receiving both the ICC Men’s T20I Cricketer of the Year award and a T20I Team of the Year cap. Yadav’s remarkable consistency and explosive batting style have made him a pivotal player in India’s T20 lineup.

All-rounder Ravindra Jadeja was awarded the ICC Test Team of the Year cap, acknowledging his significant contributions in the longest format of the game. Jadeja’s versatility with both bat and ball has been instrumental in India’s successes in Test cricket.

Indian skipper Rohit Sharma, along with Shubman Gill, Kuldeep Yadav, and Mohammed Siraj, received the ICC ODI Team of the Year caps. This recognition comes on the back of their impressive performances in the One Day International format, which have helped solidify India’s dominance in ODI cricket. Additionally, left-arm spinner Arshdeep Singh was honored with an ICC T20I Team of the Year cap, highlighting his impactful performances in T20 internationals.

The Men in Blue will commence their T20 World Cup campaign on June 5 against Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. This tournament is crucial for India as they seek to end their ICC trophy drought, having last won an ICC title in 2013 with the ICC Champions Trophy.

The tournament also features the highly anticipated clash between India and Pakistan on June 9, a match that consistently draws immense viewership and excitement. Following this, India will face co-hosts USA on June 12 and Canada on June 15 to complete their Group A fixtures.

India’s history in recent ICC tournaments has been marked by near-misses, including reaching the 50-over World Cup final in 2023 and the semifinals in 2015 and 2019. They also made it to the title clash of the ICC World Test Championship in 2021 and 2023, and reached the T20 World Cup final in 2014, along with the semifinals in 2016 and 2022. Despite these consistent performances, a major ICC trophy has eluded them in the past decade.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram