Skip to content

IPL 2023 Players Full List of Injuries, Replacements and Ruled Out Players [Updated Today]

IPL 2023 Injuries: Top 13 Players Confirmed Ruled Out or will Miss Out some matches

The 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season has been significantly impacted by a wave of injuries, affecting 9 out of the 10 participating teams. A total of 14 injuries have been reported so far and have forced teams to reevaluate their strategies, as they must rely on replacements to maintain their competitiveness throughout the season. The consequences of these injuries are felt not only by the individual players but also by their teams and fans who expect a high level of performance.

Among the franchises, only the Sunrisers Hyderabad have managed to escape this injury epidemic, enjoying an uninterrupted squad lineup. As the season unfolds, the teams will continue to adapt and find ways to overcome the challenges brought about by these injuries, showcasing the resilience and spirit of the IPL.

Also See: IPL Schedule by Team | IPL Live Score Starting from March 31, 2023

Here’s a look at some of the top players who will miss out on this year’s IPL due to injuries or fitness issues.

Kane Williamson – Gujarat Titans (GT)

Gujarat Titans (GT) have also announced Dasun Shanaka as Kane Williamson’s replacement. Williamson sustained a right leg injury while attempting a catch at the boundary during the tournament opener against Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium on March 31st, 2023. Sri Lanka’s white-ball captain, Shanaka is an explosive middle-order batter and right-arm seam bowler.

Reece Topley – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Additionally, England fast bowler Reece Topley, who joined Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) for the ongoing Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, has also been declared out of the tournament due to a dislocated right shoulder sustained during RCB’s opening match against Mumbai Indians (MI) on April 2.

Will Jacks – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

England all-rounder Will Jacks, who was bought by Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), has been ruled out of IPL 2023. RCB has confirmed New Zealand all-rounder Michael Bracewell as replacement for Jacks.

Obed McCoy – Rajasthan Royal (RR)

Rajasthan Royals’ pacer Obed McCoy is another overseas player suffering from a knee injury. He is doubtful for the first few games of IPL 2023.

Kyle Jamieson – Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Chennai Super Kings had acquired New Zealand speedster Kyle Jamieson for his base price of Rs 1 crore. Unfortunately, he has been ruled out of the entire season due to a second stress fracture in his back. Jamieson will need at least 3-4 months to recover and aims to make a comeback during the away tour of England in August. CSK has announced Sisanda Magala as his replacement.

Jhye Richardson – Mumbai Indians (MI)

According to the statement released, the Mumbai Indians (MI) have announced that Australian fast bowler Riley Meredith will step in for his fellow countryman Jhye Richardson in the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023, as Richardson has been sidelined due to a hamstring injury.

Jasprit Bumrah – Mumbai Indians (MI)

Indian pace bowler Jasprit Bumrah will miss IPL 2023 due to a back surgery, according to the latest reports. He may also miss the ICC World Test Championship final if India qualifies, which is scheduled to take place from June 7 at The Oval.

Rishabh Pant – Delhi Capitals (DC)

Delhi Capitals’ captain Rishabh Pant suffered head, back, and leg injuries in a car crash in December 2022 and has been ruled out of the entire IPL campaign. In his absence, David Warner is set to captain the team.

Prasidh Krishna – Rajasthan Royals (RR)

India pacer Prasidh Krishna is set to miss IPL 2023 with a lumbar stress fracture that will require the Rajasthan Royals bowling spearhead to go under the knife.

Jonny Bairstow – Punjab Kings (PBKS)

 Jonny Bairstow will miss out on the action of the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League due to an injury. Punjab Kings announce Matthew Short as Jonny Bairstow’s replacement for IPL 2023

Mukesh Chaudhary – Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

In latest setback for Chennai Super Kings (CSK), the team has announced that pacer Akash Singh will replace Mukesh Choudhary for the upcoming edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023. Choudhary has been ruled out of the tournament due to a stress fracture, which has hit another dent in CSK’s title hopes.

Mohsin Khan – Lucknow Super Giants (LSG)

Uncapped Indian pacer Mohsin Khan, who represents Lucknow Super Giants (LSG), will be missing the majority of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season as he is recovering from an injury to his left shoulder.

Shreyas Iyer – Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR)

Shreyas Iyer has been ruled out and will miss the entire Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season and the World Test Championship Final against Australia at the Oval Stadium in England. Iyer experienced swelling in his lower back during the fourth Test match between India and Australia in Ahmedabad, which prevented him from batting. His recurring back injury ultimately led to surgery, sidelining him for at least three months. With Iyer out, Nitish Rana has taken over as Kolkata Knight Riders’ skipper for IPL 2023.

Josh Hazlewood – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

There are doubts over pacer Josh Hazlewood’s status for the tournament as he is currently recovering from Achilles tendonitis. He flew back home to Australia midway during the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after missing the first two Tests. His fitness will be monitored closely as Australia will face India in ICC World Test Championship final on June 7 and will lock horns with England in the Ashes series from June 16 onwards.

Rajat Patidar – Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) announced that batter Rajat Patidar would be ruled out of the ongoing IPL 2023 due to an Achilles heel injury. RCB also faces uncertainty surrounding pacer Josh Hazlewood’s availability, as he is currently recovering from Achilles tendonitis. Hazlewood returned to Australia midway through the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after missing the first two Tests.

Injury List by Team [and Replacement]

Jasprit BumrahIndiaMumbai IndiansSandeep Warrier (India)
Jhye RichardsonAustraliaMumbai IndiansRiley Meredith (Australia)
Kyle JamiesonNew ZealandChennai Super KingsSisanda Magala (South Africa)
Prasidh KrishnaIndiaRajasthan RoyalsSandeep Sharma (India)
Rishabh PantIndiaDelhi CapitalsAbishek Porel (India)
Will JacksEnglandRoyal Challengers BangaloreMichael Bracewell (New Zealand)
Jonny BairstowEnglandPunjab KingsMatthew Short (Australia)
Shreyas IyerIndiaKolkata Knight RidersNot Named
Mohsin KhanIndiaLucknow Super GiantsNot Named
Mukesh ChaudharyIndiaChennai Super KingsAkash Singh (India)
Josh HazlewoodAustraliaRoyal Challengers BangaloreMiss Some Matches
Wanindu HasarangaSri LankaRoyal Challengers BangaloreMiss Some Matches
Rajat PatidarIndiaRoyal Challengers BangaloreNot Named
Kane WilliamsonNew ZealandGujarat TitansDasun Shanaka (Sri Lanka)
Raj BawaIndiaPunjab KingsGurnoor Singh Brar (India)

The absence of these top players will undoubtedly impact their respective teams, but it also opens up opportunities for other talented players to make their mark in the high-profile tournament.

Also See: IPL Live Tracker for latest team news, players update, live scores, video highlights and more

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram