Skip to content

IPL 2023 Injury Update: Lucknow Super Giants pacer Mohsin Khan to miss majority of the tournament

Lucknow Super Giants (LSG) pacer Mohsin Khan will reportedly miss the majority of the 2023 Indian Premier League (IPL) season due to a left shoulder injury.

According to ESPNCricinfo report, Mohsin underwent surgery last year to remove blood clots in his bowling shoulder and has yet to resume bowling.

In the IPL 2022 season, Mohsin was a standout bowler, claiming 14 wickets in nine matches at an economy rate of 5.97 and best bowling figures of 4/16. The pacer experienced discomfort late in the season and subsequently underwent surgery at the National Cricket Academy (NCA) to remove the blood clots.

Currently participating in the franchise’s preparatory camp in Lucknow, Mohsin has been batting in the nets but has not resumed bowling as he continues to strengthen his shoulder. The Super Giants are hopeful that Mohsin will be able to bowl in the second half of the tournament. The team selected left-arm seamer Jaydev Unadkat as a replacement during the IPL auction in December but retained Mohsin in the squad, supporting him throughout his rehabilitation.

Last season, the 24-year-old played crucial roles for the Lucknow Super Giants, bowling in the powerplay and death overs. After going wicketless in the opening match against Gujarat Titans, Mohsin made a significant impact in the latter half of the competition, including the playoffs where he delivered a joint-most economic spell of 1/25 in four overs.

Lucknow Super Giants will kick off their IPL 2023 campaign at home against the Delhi Capitals at the Bharat Ratna Shri Atal Bihari Vajpayee Ekana Cricket Stadium in Lucknow.

Lucknow Super Giants Squad for 2023 IPL Edition

KL Rahul (Captain), Manan Vohra, Mayank Yadav, Prerak Mankad, Deepak Hooda, Karan Sharma, Krunal Pandya, Kyle Mayers, Marcus Stoinis, Ayush Badoni, Krishnappa Gowtham, Daniel Sams, Swapnil Singh, Quinton de Kock, Nicholas Pooran, Avesh Khan, Mark Wood, Mohsin Khan, Ravi Bishnoi, Jaydev Unadkat, Yash Thakur, Romario Shepherd, Amit Mishra, Naveen-ul-Haq and Yudhvir Singh Charak

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram