Skip to content

IPL 2023 Title Prediction: Kallis picks Delhi Capitals against Mumbai Indians

Legendary South Africa all-rounder Jacques Kallis has predicted that the Delhi Capitals will win the Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 trophy.

The 2023 edition of the IPL is set to begin on Friday, with the defending champions Gujarat Titans taking on the four-time champions Chennai Super Kings.

Kallis said, “It is always difficult to predict which teams are going to be in the IPL playoffs because the teams are so evenly matched. But I have got a feeling this year that it is going to be between Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals, with Delhi Capitals taking the cup,” on Star Sports.

While Mumbai Indians has won the title five times, Delhi Capitals has never won the IPL trophy. Their best finish was as runners-up in IPL 2020 after losing to Mumbai Indians in the final.

In the previous season, Delhi Capitals finished in the fifth position in the points table with seven wins and an equal number of losses, narrowly missing out on a playoff spot.

Mumbai Indians, on the other hand, finished with only four wins in 14 matches and a total of eight points.

Jacques Kallis has also played in the IPL. He had a two-year stint with Royal Challengers Bangalore from 2008 to 2010 and a three-year stint with Kolkata Knight Riders from 2011 to 2014.

He was part of the KKR squad that won the IPL in 2012 and 2014. In 98 matches, he scored 2,427 runs at an average of 28.55 and a strike rate of 109.23.

He also took 65 wickets, with best bowling figures of 3/13 and an economy rate of 7.90 and an average of 35.28.

The T20 cricket extravaganza will be played across 12 venues with the Narendra Modi Stadium hosting the opener on March 31, and the final of the tournament will also be played at the same venue in Ahmedabad on May 28.

A total of 12 venues will host the IPL 2023 matches, including Mohali, Lucknow, Hyderabad, Bengaluru, Chennai, Delhi, Kolkata, Jaipur, Mumbai, Guwahati (Royals’ second home) and Dharamsala (Kings’ second home).

For the first time since 2019, the league will return to its customary home-and-away schedule in India, where each team will play a total of 14 games.

Each team will have home support, playing at their respective home grounds in seven matches, while they will play the remaining seven matches at away venues. The matches will be played on two timings, with the day matches starting at 3:30 pm IST and the night matches beginning at 7:30 pm IST.

The IPL 2023 will see teams being divided into two groups – Mumbai Indians, Kolkata Knight Riders, Rajasthan Royals, Delhi Capitals, and Lucknow Super Giants in Group A, while Chennai Super Kings, Sunrisers Hyderabad, Royal Challengers Bangalore, Punjab Kings, and Gujarat Titans are in Group B.

With the tournament starting, cricket enthusiasts across the world are eagerly looking forward to another exciting season of IPL.

Also See: IPL Schedule, Match Dates, Timing, Teams, Players and Venues

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram