Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 89

Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG_LOG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 91
IPL 2023 Update: Shreyas Iyer and Rajat Patidar ruled out, Kane Williamson replaced with Dasun Shanaka
Skip to content

IPL 2023 Update: Shreyas Iyer and Rajat Patidar ruled out, Kane Williamson replaced with Dasun Shanaka

In the latest IPL 2023 injury update, Gujarat Titans have named Dasun Shanaka as Kane Williamson’s replacement, while Shreyas Iyer will miss the entire season and the WTC final, and RCB’s Rajat Patidar is also ruled out due to injury.

According to latest reports, Shreyas Iyer is expected to miss the entire Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 season and the World Test Championship Final against Australia at the Oval Stadium in England. Iyer experienced swelling in his lower back during the fourth Test match between India and Australia in Ahmedabad, which prevented him from batting. His recurring back injury ultimately led to surgery, sidelining him for at least three months. With Iyer out, Nitish Rana has taken over as Kolkata Knight Riders’ skipper for IPL 2023.

Additionally, the Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) announced that batter Rajat Patidar would be ruled out of the ongoing IPL 2023 due to an Achilles heel injury. RCB also faces uncertainty surrounding pacer Josh Hazlewood’s availability, as he is currently recovering from Achilles tendonitis. Hazlewood returned to Australia midway through the Border-Gavaskar Trophy after missing the first two Tests.

Gujarat Titans (GT) have also announced Dasun Shanaka as Kane Williamson’s replacement. Williamson sustained a right leg injury while attempting a catch at the boundary during the tournament opener against Chennai Super Kings at the Narendra Modi Stadium on March 31st, 2023. Sri Lanka’s white-ball captain, Shanaka is an explosive middle-order batter and right-arm seam bowler.

He recently excelled in a T20I in India, scoring 124 runs across three innings with a strike rate of 187 and an average of 62.00. As the top run-scorer in the subsequent ODI series, he amassed 121 runs in three innings. Shanaka, signed at his base price of INR 50 lakh, will make his debut in the TATA IPL this season.

Players ruled out of IPL 2023:

1) MI – Bumrah & Jhye
2) CSK – Mukesh Choudhary & Jamieson
3) RCB – Will Jacks
4) DC – Pant
5) PBKS – Bairstow
6) RR – Prasidh Krishna
7) GT – Kane Williamson
8) RCB – Rajat Patidar

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram