Skip to content

IPL Points Table Toppers: A Journey Through the Years (2008 – 2023)

The Indian Premier League (IPL) has been a true spectacle since its inception in 2008, creating an unparalleled cricketing experience for fans around the world. With the 2023 season set to kick off on March 31, featuring ten teams in total, it’s the perfect time to look back at the points table toppers from each year of this incredible competition.

2008: Rajasthan Royals (RR)

The inaugural season of the IPL saw the Rajasthan Royals (RR) claim the top spot on the points table, led by their inspirational captain, Shane Warne. The team played with passion and determination, eventually going on to win the tournament, making a dream start to their IPL journey.

2009: Deccan Chargers (DEC)

The second season of the IPL, held in South Africa due to the Indian General Elections, witnessed the Deccan Chargers (DEC) emerge as table toppers. The Hyderabad-based franchise, captained by Adam Gilchrist, showcased immense talent and went on to lift the trophy that year, cementing their place in IPL history.

2010: Deccan Chargers (DEC)

The Deccan Chargers maintained their dominance in the 2010 IPL season, topping the points table once again. However, the team fell short in the playoffs, finishing in third place overall. Nonetheless, their consistency over the years remained commendable.

2011: Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB)

In 2011, RCB, under the captaincy of Virat Kohli, topped the points table. Known for their explosive batting line-up, RCB enthralled fans with their high-scoring matches. Despite their stellar performance in the league stage, the team could not clinch the title, ending as runners-up.

2012: Delhi Daredevils (DD)

The Delhi Daredevils, now known as Delhi Capitals, took the top spot on the points table in 2012. The team showcased impressive talent but fell short in the playoffs, failing to reach the final.

2013: Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

Under the leadership of MS Dhoni, the Chennai Super Kings topped the points table in 2013. The team exhibited a fine balance of experienced players and young talent, eventually finishing as runners-up in the tournament.

2014: Kings XI Punjab (KXIP)

Kings XI Punjab, captained by George Bailey, emerged as table toppers in 2014. The team, known for its aggressive batting and spirited performances, unfortunately failed to win the title, finishing as runners-up.

2015: Chennai Super Kings (CSK)

CSK once again claimed the top spot on the points table in 2015. Their consistency and balanced team composition kept them at the forefront of the competition. However, they ended as runners-up, narrowly missing out on the title.

2016: Gujarat Lions (GL)

In their debut season, the Gujarat Lions topped the points table under the captaincy of Suresh Raina. Despite a promising start to their IPL journey, the team was unable to secure the championship, finishing third overall.

2017: Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians, led by Rohit Sharma, dominated the 2017 season and topped the points table. Their incredible performance throughout the tournament culminated in their third IPL title win.

2018: Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH)

Sunrisers Hyderabad, under the leadership of Kane Williamson, topped the points table in 2018. The team showcased strong performances but ultimately fell short in the final, finishing as runners-up.

2019: Mumbai Indians (MI)

Mumbai Indians continued their dominance in 2019, topping the points table once again. Their consistent performances led them to their fourth IPL title, further solidifying their status as one of the most successful teams in the league’s history.

2020: Mumbai Indians (MI)

The 2020 season saw the Mumbai Indians continue their winning streak, as they topped the points table yet again. Displaying exceptional teamwork and consistency, they went on to clinch their fifth IPL title in a season held in the UAE due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

2021: Delhi Capitals (DC)

The Delhi Capitals, formerly known as the Delhi Daredevils, secured the top spot on the points table in the 2021 season. Captained by Rishabh Pant, the team showed immense potential and played some thrilling cricket. Despite their strong performance in the league stage, they couldn’t win the title, finishing as runners-up.

2022: Gujarat Titans (GT)

The Gujarat Titans, a newly introduced franchise in the IPL, immediately made their mark by topping the points table in 2022. With an impressive squad and strong team dynamics, they showcased their prowess in their debut season. However, the team couldn’t go all the way, eventually finishing in the playoffs.

Also See: IPL Points Table 2023 with latest Team Rankings and Standings

As we await the start of the 2023 IPL season, fans can’t help but wonder which team will rise to the top of the points table this year. With ten fiercely competitive teams vying for the coveted title, the upcoming season promises to be yet another thrilling chapter in the IPL’s storied history.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram