Skip to content

IPL this week: Nitish, Mayank & Andre celebrate milestones, Rohit Sharma gets most ducks in IPL history

Indian Premier League (IPL) 2023 has seen several new milestones achieved by both Indian and foreign players after Match 47. Kolkata Knight Riders’ (KKR) Nitish Rana crossed the 2,000-run mark for his franchise, while Sunrisers Hyderabad’s (SRH) Mayank Agarwal reached 2,500 runs in the IPL. KKR all-rounder Andre Russell completed 600 sixes in T20 cricket, and Mumbai Indians’ (MI) skipper Rohit Sharma registered an unwanted batting record with the most number of ducks in IPL history.

Kolkata Knight Riders’ stand-in skipper Nitish Rana completed 2,000 runs for the franchise during their match against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Rana scored 42 off 31 balls, showcasing his impressive batting skills with a strike rate of 135.48. Before joining KKR in 2018, Rana represented Mumbai Indians, scoring 437 runs in 17 matches. In his entire IPL career, Rana has scored 2,456 runs with an average of 28.23 in 101 matches, including 16 fifties and a strike rate of 135.77.

Sunrisers Hyderabad’s opener Mayank Agarwal achieved the milestone of 2,500 runs in the IPL during the match against Kolkata Knight Riders. With a total of 2514 runs in 122 matches, Agarwal has an average of 22.45 and a strike rate of 132.53. He has made one century and 12 fifties in his IPL career. Agarwal started his IPL journey with Royal Challengers Bangalore and has since played for Delhi Capitals, the now-defunct Rising Pune Supergiant, and Punjab Kings, where he had his most successful stint, scoring 1,513 runs in 60 matches.

Kolkata Knight Riders all-rounder Andre Russell achieved the incredible milestone of hitting 600 sixes in the T20 format during the match against Sunrisers Hyderabad. Russell, an explosive batter, hit two sixes in the match, scoring a total of 24 runs in 15 balls. He ranks third in the list of most sixes in T20 cricket, only behind fellow West Indians Chris Gayle (1,056 sixes) and Kieron Pollard (812 sixes). New Zealand great Brendon McCullum and fellow Kiwi Colin Munro trail Russell on the list.

Mumbai Indians skipper Rohit Sharma registered an unwanted batting record during his match against Punjab Kings, marking his 200th match for MI. Rohit was dismissed for a three-ball duck, taking his tally of ducks in the IPL to a total of 15. This record ties him with three other players: Dinesh Karthik, Mandeep Singh, and West Indies all-rounder Sunil Narine. Indian batter Ambati Rayudu holds the fifth position with 14 ducks in his IPL history. Despite this record, Rohit Sharma has had a remarkable IPL career, scoring 5,166 runs in his 200 matches for MI, with one century and 34 fifties.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram