Skip to content

Ireland Face Off Bangladesh in Thrilling Super League Finale ODI Series for ICC World Cup Spot

? Twitter / Cricket Ireland

The ODI series between Ireland and Bangladesh, starting in Chelmsford, will be a nail-biting finish to the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Super League. Ireland, currently 11th in the standings with 68 points, has a chance to secure the eighth and final direct qualification spot for this year’s ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup, but they face stiff competition from South Africa.

South Africa, with 98 points, narrowly holds onto the eighth position but has already completed their Super League fixtures. Ireland needs a clean sweep over Bangladesh in the three-match series to draw level with South Africa on points. However, merely winning all three matches may not be enough for Ireland; they also need to better their net run rate and avoid dropping penalty points to edge ahead of South Africa.

Andy Balbirnie’s side faces a challenging task but is bolstered by the return of star pacer Josh Little. Little, who has been playing in the Indian Premier League (IPL) for the Gujarat Titans, has received permission to take a short break from the IPL and play in the ODI series. With six wickets from eight matches in his debut IPL season, Little is a valuable addition to the Irish team.

Bangladesh, currently in fourth place on the Super League standings, has already secured its place in the World Cup. However, they could climb the ranks and potentially finish as high as second with three wins against Ireland.

The fate of Ireland’s World Cup qualification hangs in the balance as they face Bangladesh in this thrilling ODI series. Fans and players alike eagerly anticipate the outcome, knowing that every match and run could make the difference between qualification and disappointment.

Bangladesh squad:

Tamim Iqbal (c), Litton Das, Rony Talukdar, Najmul Hossain Shanto, Towhid Hridoy, Shakib Al Hasan, Mushfiqur Rahim, Yasir Ali, Mehidy Hasan Miraz, Taijul Islam, Ebadot Hossain, Shoriful Islam, Mustafizur Rahman, Hasan Mahmud, Mrittunjoy Chowdhury

Ireland squad:

Andy Balbirnie (c), Mark Adair, Curtis Campher, Gareth Delany, George Dockrell, Stephen Doheny, Fionn Hand, Graham Hume, Josh Little, Andy McBrine, Paul Stirling, Harry Tector, Lorcan Tucker, Craig Young

Bangladesh vs Ireland ODI Series Schedule:

  • 9 May: 1st ODI, Chelmsford
  • 12 May: 2nd ODI, Chelmsford
  • 14 May: 3rd ODI, Chelmsford

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram