Skip to content

Kuldeep Yadav Creates History with Fastest 50 T20I Wickets for India

India’s spin maestro, Kuldeep Yadav, has created history during the third T20I against West Indies at the Providence Stadium in Guyana. Kuldeep’s mesmerizing spin propelled him to become the fastest Indian bowler to claim 50 wickets in men’s T20Is, achieving this feat in just 30 matches.

The left-arm spinner’s remarkable achievement came as he orchestrated a spellbinding performance in the third T20I, continuing his legacy as a force to be reckoned with in the limited-overs format. Kuldeep surpassed his compatriot, Yuzvendra Chahal, who previously held the record for the fastest 50 wickets in T20Is for India.

Sri Lanka’s ‘mystery spinner,’ Ajantha Mendis, holds the overall record for reaching 50 wickets in the shortest span of time in T20Is. Mendis achieved this extraordinary milestone in just 26 matches. Furthermore, Mendis also holds the record for reaching 50 wickets in the fewest deliveries, achieving the milestone in just 600 balls.

In the captivating match, Kuldeep Yadav’s brilliance shone brightly as he claimed three wickets, bolstering India’s efforts. His compatriots, Axar Patel and Mukesh Kumar, also made valuable contributions by taking one wicket each. On the opposition side, Brandon King emerged as the top scorer for West Indies, amassing a commendable 42 runs off 42 deliveries. Rovman Powell, with an unbeaten 40 off just 19 balls, played a pivotal role in bolstering West Indies’ innings.

In a match that saw West Indies opting to bat first, their opening duo, Kyle Mayers and Brandon King, made a strong start, accumulating runs at a steady pace against India’s bowling attack. However, Axar Patel’s spin proved to be the undoing of Mayers, as he was dismissed for 25 runs in the 8th over.

Kuldeep Yadav’s strategic spin soon came into play, dismissing Johnson Charles for 14 runs, showcasing his mastery over the craft. Nicholas Pooran, the left-handed batter in scintillating form, managed to score 13 runs off Kuldeep’s over, including a boundary and a six.

In the 15th over, Kuldeep Yadav struck twice, snaring the prized wickets of Pooran and the well-set Brandon King. Pooran departed after scoring 20 runs, while King was dismissed after a commendable innings of 42 runs. Mukesh Kumar’s contributions in the 18th over saw him dismissing Shimron Hetmyer for 9 runs.

In a stunning display of power-hitting in the 19th over, Rovman Powell emerged as West Indies’ hero, smashing two colossal sixes and accumulating 17 runs off a single over by Arshdeep Singh. The final over witnessed Powell’s aggressive intent once more, as he hammered a six off Mukesh Kumar, helping West Indies conclude their innings with a competitive score of 159/5 on the scoreboard.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram