Get every cricket updates! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram
Umar Gul – Photo Twitter

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced Abdul Rehman and Umar Gul as the head coach and bowling coach, respectively, for the team during the three-match T20I series against Afghanistan later this month.

Rehman is a seasoned coach who has achieved significant success in his career. He led Khyber Pakhtunkhwa to victory in the National T20 and Pakistan Cup, and shared Quaid-e-Azam Trophy with Central Punjab. Rehman also won two National T20s as the head coach of Peshawar Panthers and was assistant coach of Peshawar Zalmi when they won the HBL Pakistan Super League in 2017.

Additionally, he has been the assistant coach under Andy Flower at Multan Sultans for the last four years, and was the Pakistan U19 coach during Bangladesh’s tour of Multan in November last year.

Umar Gul, one of the most celebrated T20 bowlers in Pakistan, was Afghanistan’s bowling coach in the recent ICC Men’s T20 Cricket World Cup 2022. He took 85 wickets at 16.97 in 60 T20Is from 2007-16. Mohammad Yousuf and Abdul Majeed will continue their roles as batting and fielding coaches.

Pakistan has also decided to rest several key regulars for the series, including Fakhar Zaman, Haris Rauf, Shaheen Afridi, and Mohammad Rizwan. Imad Wasim and Faheem Ashraf have received a call-up for the first time.

In the absence of regular captain Babar Azam, Shadab Khan will take over the reins of Pakistan’s T20I side against Afghanistan. Several exciting new talents, such as Ihsanullah, Saim Ayub, Tayyab Tahir, and Zaman Khan, are in line for their T20I debuts after impressing in the Pakistan Super League (PSL).

Additionally, the likes of Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, and Imad Wasim have earned a recall.

Pakistan will depart for the UAE on March 22 for the series commencing on March 24. The series will mark the first multi-game bilateral assignment between the two sides, with all three games played in Sharjah. Afghanistan will be in the hunt for their first limited-overs victory over Pakistan.

Pakistan 15-member Squad against Afghanistan

Shadab Khan (captain), Abdullah Shafique, Azam Khan, Faheem Ashraf, Iftikhar Ahmed, Ihsanullah, Imad Wasim, Mohammad Haris, Mohammad Nawaz, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Saim Ayub, Shan Masood, Tayyab Tahir and Zaman Khan

Reserve players â€“ Abrar Ahmed, Haseebullah and Usama Mir

Also See: Pakistan vs Afghanistan Schedule for all upcoming matches

Pakistan vs Afghanistan T20 Series Match Schedule

Mar 24, FriPakistan vs Afghanistan, 1st T20I10am EST | 2pm GMT | 6pm Local | 7pm PKT
Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Mar 26, SatPakistan vs Afghanistan, 2nd T20I10am EST | 2pm GMT | 6pm Local | 7pm PKT
Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah
Mar 27, SunPakistan vs Afghanistan, 3rd T20I10am EST | 2pm GMT | 6pm Local | 7pm PKT
Sharjah Cricket Stadium, Sharjah