Skip to content

Pakistan beat Bangladesh by 7-Wickets in Asia Cup Super 4 Match

Pakistan has beaten Bangladesh by a commanding 7-wicket triumph in a high-stakes Super 4 clash of the Asia Cup. The Gaddafi Stadium witnessed a dazzling display of cricketing talent as Pakistan’s Imam-ul-Haq and Mohammad Rizwan steered their team to a resounding win, maintaining their unbeaten streak in the tournament.

Imam-ul-Haq made a scorching entry into the Asia Cup with a powerful 78-run innings, setting the stage for Pakistan’s pursuit of Bangladesh’s 194-run target. Pakistan faced an unexpected hurdle when the floodlights briefly went out during the fifth over, disrupting the players’ focus and resulting in Fakhar Zaman’s dismissal.

Captain Babar Azam, Imam’s partner-in-crime from previous matches, tried to steady the ship but fell victim to Taskin Ahmed’s delivery. Despite these setbacks, Imam and the determined Mohammad Rizwan forged an impressive 85-run partnership, guiding Pakistan towards victory. Imam’s fiery form included a striking half-century, while Rizwan battled cramps with unwavering resolve. Although Bangladesh made a late push with the dismissal of Imam, Rizwan anchored the innings, ensuring Pakistan’s win.

On the flip side, Pakistan’s pace attack made life difficult for Bangladesh’s openers, with Naseem Shah taking an early wicket. Litton Das managed a stylish four before falling to Shaheen Afridi. Captain Shakib Al Hasan and Mushfiqur Rahim then rallied, forming an exceptional century partnership. However, Shakib’s gritty innings came to an end, caught by Fakhar Zaman, while Rahim secured his 46th ODI half-century.

Pakistan’s Haris Rauf made a game-changing impact, dismissing Rahim and Taskin Ahmed, while Naseem Shah added to Bangladesh’s woes by removing Afif Hossain and Shoriful Islam. Bangladesh’s innings concluded with just 193 runs on the scoreboard.

Asia Cup Full Match Scorecard

Brief score:

  • Bangladesh 193 (Mushfiqur Rahim 64, Shakib Al Hasan 53; Haris Rauf 4-19)
  • Pakistan 194/3 (Imam-ul-Haq 78, Mohammad Rizwan 63*; Taskin Ahmed 1-32).

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram