Skip to content

Pakistan vs Nepal Asia Cup Match Preview, Schedule, Timing, Venue and Squads

Host Pakistan is all set to take on Nepal in the opening match of the much-anticipated Asia Cup 2023 today. The iconic Multan Cricket Stadium in Multan is poised to bear witness to this riveting contest on Wednesday, marking the commencement of a cricketing spectacle that has captured the imagination of fans across the globe.

Pakistan vs Nepal Asia Cup Match Details

1st Match: Pakistan vs Nepal, 1st Match, Group A

Date: Wednesday August 30

Time: 3:30pm IST | 6am EST | 10am GMT | 3pm Local

Venue: Multan Cricket Stadium, Multan

Live Score: Pakistan vs Nepal Asia Cup Live Score

Captains: Babar Azam and Rohit Paudel

The practice session of both the Nepal and Pakistan teams at the Multan Cricket Stadium was temporarily delayed due to the scorching heat, underlining the dedication and tenacity of the cricketers as they acclimatize to the conditions. With stringent security measures in place, the stadium is gearing up to host a thrilling encounter that is expected to captivate cricketing enthusiasts.

The excitement surrounding the tournament is palpable, particularly due to its return to the 50-over format after a five-year hiatus. As the cricketing fraternity braces for the Asia Cup’s resplendent return, the tournament holds a special place in the hearts of fans both within and beyond the Asian continent.

Cricket aficionados worldwide are eagerly awaiting the captivating battle between seasoned cricketing giants and the emergence of debutants on the continental stage. The tournament’s allure has also extended beyond national boundaries, with former India captain Virat Kohli, affectionately dubbed ‘King Kohli’ for his remarkable achievements, enjoying a dedicated fan base in Pakistan.

Despite the absence of India in this particular edition, Kohli’s influence continues to resonate with cricket enthusiasts in Pakistan, reinforcing the sport’s unifying power. Reflecting on the scenario, a local cricket follower expressed, “Many teams are going to play in Pakistan. If India had come then the excitement level would have been much higher. Everyone here loves Virat Kohli. There are a lot of Indian fans in Pakistan too, and everyone likes Virat Kohli. Think it’s the beginning. Next time India will definitely come for the Champions Trophy in Pakistan.”

The young and dynamic right-arm pacer, Naseem Shah, has been generating ripples in the world of cricket. His performance in the recent ODI against Afghanistan showcased his prowess, as he conceded just 12 runs in five overs and secured a wicket. Another player commanding attention is Pakistan’s left-arm pacer, Shaheen Afridi, whose fiery opening spells have put even the top batters on high alert.

“We hope that the way Pakistan has played with Afghanistan, it will perform in the same way in the Asia Cup. We have hopes from Shaheen Afridi and Naseem Shah. No team is weak, luck also matters, as in the match between Zimbabwe and Pakistan. We have hope that Pakistan will win the Asia Cup. Best wishes,” a fervent local cricket enthusiast exclaimed.

The vibrant cricketing city of Multan is basking in the joy of hosting Asia Cup matches, though sentiments regarding the hybrid model have been mixed. A local cricket enthusiast shared, “It is a matter of happiness that Asia Cup matches are being held in Pakistan. We are not very happy with the hybrid model. It would have been nice if other teams also played in Multan.”

Also See: Full Schedule / PDF Download for Asia Cup Matches

Pakistan squad for Asia Cup: Babar Azam (c), Abdullah Shafique, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq, Salman Ali Agha, Iftikhar Ahmed, Tayyab Tahir, Mohammad Rizwan, Mohammad Haris, Shadab Khan, Mohammad Nawaz, Usama Mir, Faheem Ashraf, Haris Rauf, Mohammad Wasim Jnr, Naseem Shah, Shaheen Afridi.

Nepal Squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Paudel (c), Kushal Bhurtel, Aasif Sheikh, Bhim Sharki, Kushal Malla, Aarif Sheikh, Dipendra Singh Airee, Gulshan Jha, Sompal Kami, Karan KC, Sandeep Lamichhane, Lalit Rajbanshi, Pratish GC, Mousom Dhakal, Sundeep Jora, Kishore Mahato and Arjun Saud.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram