Skip to content

Prize Money for ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 Revealed

The excitement is building as the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 in India draws near, and the International Cricket Council (ICC) has just unveiled the tantalizing prize pool for the much-anticipated tournament.

A staggering USD 10 million has been earmarked as the total prize money for the 13th edition of the Men’s Cricket World Cup, with the winners set to claim a substantial portion. The champions, who will emerge victorious in the final showdown scheduled for November 19 at the iconic Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad, will take home a magnificent USD 4 million.

The breakdown of prize money allocations is as follows:

StageRate US$Total US$
Winner (1)4,000,0004,000,000
Runner-up (1)2,000,0002,000,000
Losing Semi-Finalist (2)800,0001,600,000
Teams eliminated after group stage (6)100,000600,000
Winner of each group stage match (45)40,0001,800,000
Total 10,000,000

Not to be overshadowed, the runners-up in the grand finale will also enjoy a generous share of the spoils, pocketing USD 2 million for their impressive journey to the final match.

The tournament structure promises a thrilling battle as all ten participating teams will engage in a round-robin format during the Group Stage. The top four teams on the points table will advance to the semi-finals, keeping the competition fierce and unpredictable.

In addition to the significant rewards for reaching the knockout stages, there is also prize money on the line for winning Group Stage matches. Teams will earn USD 40,000 for each victory, motivating them to perform at their best throughout the competition.

Even for those teams that may not secure a spot in the semi-finals, there is consolation in the form of USD 100,000 to recognize their efforts in reaching this global stage of cricket.

Beyond the enthralling cricket action, the ICC’s announcement about the prize money distribution sets an important precedent. The ICC recently declared that equal prize sums will be awarded in the upcoming ICC Women’s Cricket World Cup in 2025. This decision underscores the commitment to gender equality in cricket, as announced during the Annual Conference held in Durban, South Africa in July 2023.

The tournament will feature a total of 10 teams, including India, who qualified as hosts. Teams like New Zealand, England, Bangladesh, Pakistan, Australia, Afghanistan, and South Africa secured their places through the Super League. Sri Lanka and the Netherlands faced a challenging Qualifier to earn their spots in the World Cup lineup.

Important Links:

The ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup 2023 promises to be the highlight of the cricket calendar, with 48 matches scheduled across 10 venues. The action kicks off on October 5 with a highly anticipated rematch of the previous edition’s final, featuring defending champions England and New Zealand.

To prepare for the intense competition, each participating team will engage in two warm-up matches before the World Cup officially commences. These warm-up games offer an opportunity for teams to fine-tune their strategies and gear up for the exhilarating 46-day-long cricket extravaganza.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram