Skip to content

Prize Money for ICC T20 World Cup 2024 Winners Announced

The upcoming ninth edition of the Men’s ICC T20 World Cup promises to be a landmark event, not just for the exciting cricket matches, but also for the historic prize money at stake. The tournament winner will take home a record-breaking USD 2.45 million, the highest prize money ever awarded in the history of the T20 World Cup. This prestigious title will be awarded at the final, set to be played at the iconic Kensington Oval in Barbados on June 29.

The runners-up of this grand event will receive a substantial USD 1.28 million, while the semi-finalists who do not advance to the final will each earn USD 787,500. This generous distribution is part of a historic prize pot totaling USD 11.25 million, according to the International Cricket Council (ICC).

Prize Money (USD)
Losing Semi-finalists$787,500 each
Teams not making out of Super 8s$382,500 each
Teams placed 9th to 12th$247,500 each
Teams placed 13th to 20th$225,000 each
Additional per match win$31,154 each

This comprehensive prize distribution ensures that teams at all stages of the tournament are rewarded for their performances, making this edition of the T20 World Cup the most lucrative in its history.

Teams that do not make it past the Super 8s stage will still walk away with USD 382,500 each. Additionally, teams placed from ninth to 12th position will receive USD 247,500 each, while those finishing in the 13th to 20th places will be awarded USD 225,000. Adding to the incentive, each team will receive an extra USD 31,154 for every match they win, excluding the semi-finals and final.

The tournament, spanning 55 matches over 28 days, will be hosted across nine venues in the West Indies and the USA, making it the largest ICC T20 World Cup to date. The format includes 40 first-round matches, from which the top eight teams will progress to the Super 8s. Following this, four teams will advance to the semi-finals, to be held in Trinidad and Tobago and Guyana. The grand finale will take place in Barbados, where the 2024 men’s champions will be crowned.

ICC Chief Executive Geoff Allardice highlighted the historic nature of this event, stating, “This event is historic in so many ways, so it is fitting that the prize money for players reflects that. Hundreds of millions of fans around the world will be entertained by the players in what we’re hoping to be an Out of This World event.”

Also See: ICC FTP Schedule (T20, ODI and Test Series) Series List, Matches, Timing and Venues

Among the highly anticipated matches is the opening game for India, who will begin their campaign on June 5 against Ireland at the newly constructed Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. The tournament’s most eagerly awaited clash between arch-rivals India and Pakistan is scheduled for June 9. Following this, India will face co-hosts USA on June 12 and Canada on June 15, completing their Group A matches.

India enters the tournament with hopes of ending their long ICC trophy drought, having last won the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. Despite strong performances in various formats, including reaching the 50-over World Cup final in 2023 and semi-finals in 2015 and 2019, as well as the ICC World Test Championship title clashes in 2021 and 2023, and the T20 World Cup final in 2014 and semi-finals in 2016 and 2022, India has been unable to secure a major ICC trophy in recent years.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram