Skip to content

PSL 2023 Final: Lahore Qalandars beat Multan Sultans to defend PSL title

Lahore Qalandars celebrate with PSL 2023 Trophy – Photo Courtesy: PSL-T20

Captain Shaheen Shah Afridi’s exceptional performance led Lahore Qalandars to victory, securing the HBL Pakistan Super League 2023 trophy after defeating Multan Sultans by a narrow margin of 1 run in a thrilling grand finale at a packed Gaddafi Stadium on Saturday night.

Shaheen Shah Afridi has become the first-ever captain to successfully defend the PSL title and secure the trophy in consecutive seasons.

Also See: PSL Match Scorecard (Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans Final)

Pursuing a target of 201 runs, Multan Sultans began strongly, amassing 41 runs for the opening wicket. Wiese claimed the first wicket for Qalandars, dismissing Usman Khan for 18 runs off 12 balls.

Rilee Rossouw and Muhammad Rizwan then batted cautiously, scoring 64 runs off 42 balls. Rashid Khan made a crucial breakthrough, dismissing Rossouw, who had scored a fifty (52 off 32). Following his dismissal, the Sultans’ batters regularly lost wickets.

Abbas Afridi and Khushdil Shah kept the final captivating and suspenseful until the penultimate over.

In Zaman Khan’s final over, Abbas scored 2 runs on the first ball, a leg bye single on the second, while Khushdil faced a dot ball, scored 2 runs, and then hit a boundary. Needing four runs on the last ball, the Sultans managed only 2, losing the final by just 1 run. Khushdil remained unbeaten on 25 and Abbas Afridi scored 17. Shaheen Afridi claimed 4-51, and Rashid Khan took 2-26.

“???ℎ?? ???? ??? ??????, ℎ??? ??ℎ? ?????”

Earlier, Lahore Qalandars started well, with Mirza Tahir Baig contributing 14 runs in the first two overs but was dismissed after scoring 30 off 18 balls. However, Fakhar Zaman and Abdullah Shafiq stabilized the innings with a 57-run partnership for the second wicket.

The game shifted when spinner Usama Mir dismissed Fakhar Zaman, Sam Billings, and Ahsan Hafeez in quick succession. Sikandar Raza’s wicket also fell shortly after, leaving Qalandars at 112-5 in 14.1 overs. Nonetheless, captain Shaheen and Abdullah Shafique cautiously added 66 runs for the sixth-wicket partnership.

Shaheen’s impressive cameo of 44 runs off just 15 balls (2 fours and 5 sixes) helped Lahore Qalandars reach a respectable total of 200-6.

“???? ???? ℎ??? ℎ?? ????? ??????? ????? ℎ???? ???? ℎ??”

Multan Sultans’ bowlers performed adequately, with Usama Mir being the standout, claiming 3-24. Khushdil Shah, Ihsanullah, and Anwar Ali each took one wicket.

Lahore Qalandars celebrate victory – Photo Courtesy: PSL-T20

Lahore Qalandars became the first team to defend their title in the PSL, earning a prize of Rs 120 million and a glittering trophy, while runners-up Multan Sultans received Rs 48 million.

Ihsanullah of Multan Sultans won the Player of the Tournament and Best Bowler awards, while Muhammad Rizwan (Multan) was named Best Batter and Best Wicketkeeper, Kieron Pollard (Multan) Best Fielder, Abbas Afridi (Multan) Emerging Player, and Imad Wasim Best All-Rounder.

Peshawar Zalmi received the Spirit of Cricket Trophy, and Alex Wharf was named Best Umpire of PSL 8.

Check Full Scorecard for Lahore Qalandars vs Multan Sultans Final Match

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram