Skip to content

RR vs CSK Result, Match Highlights, IPL Points Table, Man of the Match and Full List of Award Winners of IPL Match 17

Learn about RR vs CSK match result along with key match highlights, IPL points table update, man of the match, full list of award winners list and everything else you need to know today about Match 17 of IPL 2023 between Rajasthan Royals and Chennai Super Kings.

?: @rajasthanroyals

Sandeep Sharma clinched victory for Rajasthan Royals against Chennai Super Kings by scoring 21 runs in the final over, winning by a mere 3 runs in a nail-biting finish at MA Chidambaram Stadium on Wednesday. The game’s outcome hinged on the last six balls, as CSK’s top finishers Ravindra Jadeja and MS Dhoni came close but couldn’t secure victory on the final ball. Sandeep’s perfect yorker silenced Dhoni, ending the game with unbeaten knocks of 32(17)* and 25(15)* for Dhoni and Jadeja respectively.

Chasing 176, CSK’s start was shaky as the in-form Ruturaj Gaikwad was dismissed by Sandeep Sharma’s swinging deliveries in the third over, scoring just 8(10). Ajinkya Rahane’s arrival steadied the nerves, and together with Conway, they built a solid partnership. However, Ashwin’s experience led to Rahane’s dismissal in the 10th over, followed by Sivam Dube’s wicket in the 12th over.

Rajasthan Royals spinners, Chahal and Zampa, caused further damage to CSK’s middle order with their economical bowling. Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, and Devon Conway all fell to the spinning duo. Despite the pressure, Dhoni and Jadeja kept CSK in the game, converting loose deliveries into boundaries. Unfortunately, their unbeaten innings couldn’t secure victory for CSK, falling short by just 3 runs.

In the earlier innings, Yashasvi Jaiswal started well but was dismissed for 10 runs off 8 balls, caught by Shivam Dube off a Tushar Deshpande bouncer. Devdutt Padikkal and Buttler then steadily found boundaries. Jadeja’s introduction in the 9th over shifted the game, taking Padikkal’s wicket at 38(26) and Sanju Samson’s for a duck. Ashwin’s partnership with Buttler helped Rajasthan recover, but a mistimed shot ended Ashwin’s innings.

Dhoni gambled with Moeen Ali in the 17th over to slow down Rajasthan’s scoring, and the gamble paid off as Buttler was bowled out. Hetmeyer and Dhruv Jurel attempted to hit boundaries, but CSK’s economical bowling kept the run rate in check. Hetmeyer managed to find the boundary in the final over, taking RR past the 170-run mark. Jason Holder lost his wicket to a golden duck, and Zampa was run out on the final ball, leaving Rajasthan with a score of 175/8.

RR vs CSK Score Summary:

Points Table Update after IPL RR vs CSK Match 17

After today’s match, Rajasthan Royals have now six points and are on top of the points table after beating Chennai by 3 runs today. Chennai Super Kings remains unchanged at number 5 with four points on the IPL points table.

RR vs CSK Match 17 Award Winners at IPL 2023

  • Player Of The Match: Ravichandran Ashwin (CSK) – 30 runs with Bat, 2 wickets
  • TIAGO.ev Electric Striker Of The Match: MS Dhoni (CSK)
  • Herbalife Active Catch Of The Match: Sandeep Sharma (RR)
  • Visit Saudi Beyond The Boundaries Longest 6: Jos Buttler (RR) – 93 metres
  • RuPay On-The-Go 4s: Devon Conway (CSK) – 6 Fours
  • UPSTOX Most Valuable Asset Of The Match: Ravindra Jadeja (CSK)
  • Dream11 Gamechanger Of The Match: Ravichandran Ashwin (RR)

Note: All the prizes carried a cash reward of Rs 1 lakh

Major Highlights for RR vs CSK Match Today

The match between RR and CSK was a roller-coaster ride filled with impressive bowling spells, quick-fire innings, and intense pressure in the final stages. Despite valiant efforts from Dhoni and Jadeja, Rajasthan Royals emerged victorious thanks to Sandeep Sharma’s last-over heroics.

  • Rajasthan Royals clinch a nail-biting victory over Chennai Super Kings by 3 runs at MA Chidambaram Stadium.
  • Sandeep Sharma bowls a perfect yorker to keep MS Dhoni silent on the final ball, leaving CSK short of the target.
  • Dhoni and Jadeja’s unbeaten knocks of 32(17)* and 25(15)* respectively weren’t enough for a CSK win.
  • Sandeep Sharma dismisses in-form Ruturaj Gaikwad early in the chase.
  • Ajinkya Rahane scores a quick 31(19) before falling to Ashwin.
  • Chahal and Zampa restrict CSK’s middle-order, claiming the wickets of Moeen Ali, Ambati Rayudu, and Devon Conway.
  • Earlier, Jadeja claims two crucial wickets in Padikkal and Samson, but Ashwin’s cameo and Buttler’s innings keep RR in the game.
  • Moeen Ali’s surprise over in the 17th yields Buttler’s wicket, putting pressure on RR’s lower order.
  • Hetmeyer’s boundary in the final over takes RR’s total to 175/8.
  • Conway and Rahane’s partnership steadies the chase for CSK after Gaikwad’s early dismissal.
  • Ashwin also claims Sivam Dube’s wicket, further denting CSK’s chase.
  • Rajasthan Royals’ spinners maintain economical bowling, adding pressure on CSK’s middle-order.
  • Yashasvi Jaiswal’s short innings ended by Tushar Deshpande’s bouncer, caught by Shivam Dube.
  • Padikkal and Buttler’s partnership helps RR recover, with both batsmen finding boundaries consistently.
  • Ashwin’s two successive sixes in the 15th over boost RR’s run rate before he is dismissed.
  • Moeen Ali’s tight bowling in the 17th over slows down RR’s scoring rate.
  • Hetmeyer and Dhruv Jurel’s attempt to hit boundaries is thwarted by CSK’s disciplined bowling.
  • Jason Holder’s wicket falls for a golden duck, adding pressure on RR’s lower order.
  • Zampa’s run-out on the final ball concludes RR’s innings with a competitive score of 175/8.

IPL Next Match

Its Punjab Kings vs Gujarat Titans (GT vs PBKS) during 18th match of IPL 2023 Today on April 13 at Punjab Cricket Association IS Bindra Stadium, Mohali.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram