Skip to content

Shaheen Afridi Returns, Mohammad Huraira and Aamer Jamal Earn Maiden Call-ups in Pakistan Squad for Sri Lanka Test Series

The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) has announced its 16-member squad for the upcoming Test series against Sri Lanka. The team will feature Shaheen Shah Afridi, the dynamic 23-year-old fast bowler who is on the brink of achieving the milestone of 100 Test wickets.

Afridi, who has been a key player for Pakistan since his debut on December 3, 2018, is making a highly anticipated return to Test cricket after a one-year absence due to a knee injury sustained in Sri Lanka. Afridi has been the most successful bowler for Pakistan in recent times, boasting an average of 24.86 and an economy of 3.04.

Shaheen expressed his excitement about his return to the team. “I am very excited to be returning to the Pakistan Test side after a year. I dearly missed Test cricket and it was tough for me to be away from this format. I am eager to make an impactful comeback in the same country and complete a century of wickets in Test cricket,” he said.

The Pakistan team met earlier to address the conditions they are likely to face in Sri Lanka. The squad includes four spinners, four fast bowlers, six specialist batters, and two wicketkeeper-batters. Among them, Mohammad Huraira and all-rounder Aamer Jamal have earned their maiden call-ups.

In addition, former South African fast bowler, Morne Morkel, has been brought on board as the team’s bowling coach on a six-month contract, potentially adding another layer of depth to Pakistan’s bowling strategy.

The squad is set to assemble in Karachi on July 3 for a preparatory camp before leaving for Sri Lanka on July 9. The first Test is scheduled from July 7 to 11 at a location yet to be confirmed, with the second Test taking place from July 15 to 19 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium. The complete tour itinerary will be released by Sri Lanka Cricket in due course.

This series marks Pakistan’s first challenge in the new World Test Championship cycle (2023-25). The last time these two teams faced off in a Test series was in July 2022, which ended in a 1-1 draw.

Full Schedule: Pakistan vs Sri Lanka Schedule, Upcoming Matches and Venues

Pakistan Test squad:

Babar Azam (c), Mohammad Rizwan (vc, wk), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Mohammad Huraira, Mohammad Nawaz, Naseem Shah, Noman Ali, Salman Ali Agha, Sarfaraz Ahmed (wk), Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi, Shan Masood

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram