Skip to content

South Africa Squad for ICC Cricket World Cup 2023 Announced, Temba Bavuma will Lead

South Africa has announced power-packed 15-member squad for the 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup in India, setting the stage for an enthralling campaign in the cricketing spectacle. The announcement by Cricket South Africa (CSA) features a blend of experience and emerging talent, all under the captaincy of the seasoned ODI skipper, Temba Bavuma.

Among the highlights of South Africa’s World Cup contingent is the inclusion of right-arm pacer Gerald Coetzee, whose recent international debut has captured the cricketing world’s attention. With a promising start to his ODI career, Coetzee’s impactful performances have already showcased his prowess. In just two appearances, he has claimed five wickets, including an impressive three-wicket haul on his ODI debut.

The squad boasts a robust batting lineup, anchored by established names such as Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Heinrich Klaasen, Aiden Markram, David Miller, and Rassie van der Dussen. Their collective experience and penchant for delivering match-winning performances will undoubtedly be a crucial asset for South Africa’s campaign.

The pace attack, a cornerstone of South Africa’s cricketing prowess, features the formidable trio of Kagiso Rabada, Anrich Nortje, and Lungi Ngidi, each poised to spearhead the team’s efforts with the ball. The fast-bowling arsenal, complemented by other talented pacers, promises to present formidable challenges to opposing batting lineups.

Given the subcontinental conditions of India, where the tournament will unfold, spinners are poised to play an instrumental role. In this aspect, South Africa has a well-rounded duo in Keshav Maharaj and Tabraiz Shamsi, both adept at thriving in conditions conducive to spin bowling. Their ability to exert control and extract turn is expected to be a key asset for the team’s success.

South Africa’s World Cup journey will commence on October 7, as they face Sri Lanka at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi. In preparation for the main event, South Africa will engage in warm-up matches, scheduled against Afghanistan on September 29 and New Zealand on October 2. These encounters will provide valuable opportunities for the team to fine-tune their strategies and test their mettle against competitive opponents before the World Cup officially kicks off.

South Africa squad: Temba Bavuma (c), Gerald Coetzee, Quinton de Kock, Reeza Hendricks, Marco Jansen, Heinrich Klaasen, Sisanda Magala, Keshav Maharaj, Aiden Markram, David Miller, Lungi Ngidi, Anrich Nortje, Kagiso Rabada, Tabraiz Shamsi, Rassie van der Dussen.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram