Skip to content

Sunrisers Hyderabad Announces Aiden Markram as their new Captain for IPL 2023

Aiden Markram has been appointed as SRH captain – Photo SRH Twitter

Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH) have made a major decision ahead of the 2023 edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL), appointing Aiden Markram as their captain for the upcoming season. A statement from an SRH official revealed that the franchise management, in consultation with head coach Brian Lara, decided to make Markram the skipper after his outstanding performance in the recent SA20 league, where he led the Sunrisers Eastern Cape side to the title.

Markram is a born leader, having previously captained the South African Under-19 team to World Cup glory. His latest achievement in leading his side to the SA20 title has further strengthened his credentials as a captain. The official announcement of his appointment came from Sunrisers Hyderabad’s Twitter handle, marking a new era in the Orange Army.

Also See: SRH Squad, Match Time Table and Venues

Interestingly, Markram is one of only two overseas captains in IPL 2023, the other being Faf du Plessis, who is leading Royal Challengers Bangalore. The other teams have retained their Indian captains, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni continuing to lead Chennai Super Kings, Rohit Sharma leading Mumbai Indians, and KL Rahul at the helm of Lucknow Super Giants.

The remaining teams have new captains in Hardik Pandya for Gujarat Titans, Shreyas Iyer for Kolkata Knight Riders, Sanju Samson for Rajasthan Royals, and Shikhar Dhawan for Punjab Kings. This year’s IPL is set to be highly competitive, with each team eager to make their mark and claim the coveted trophy.

Captains in IPL 2023 Full List

  • CSK – MS Dhoni
  • DC – David Warner
  • MI – Rohit Sharma
  • RCB – Faf Du Plessis
  • GT – Hardik Pandya
  • KKR – Shreyas Iyer
  • RR – Sanju Samson
  • LSG – KL Rahul
  • PBKS – Shikhar Dhawan
  • SRH – Aiden Markram

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram