Skip to content

T20 World Cup: Jasprit Bumrah Becomes India’s Third-Highest T20I Wicket-Taker

Pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah has overtaken all-rounder Hardik Pandya to become India’s third-highest wicket-taker in T20 International (T20I) cricket. This milestone was reached during India’s thrilling six-run victory over Pakistan in their ICC T20 World Cup clash at the Nassau County International Stadium.

In the high-stakes encounter, Bumrah delivered an exceptional performance, claiming three wickets for just 14 runs in his four overs, with an economy rate of 3.50. His victims included Pakistan’s star skipper Babar Azam, the dependable Mohammad Rizwan, and middle-order batsman Iftikhar Ahmed. Bumrah’s lethal spell was crucial in restricting Pakistan to 113/7, ensuring India successfully defended their modest total of 120 runs.

With this performance, Bumrah has now taken 79 wickets in 64 T20Is, boasting an impressive average of 18.67 and an economy rate of 6.44. His best bowling figures in the format stand at 3/11. This achievement sees him surpass Hardik Pandya, who has 78 wickets in 94 T20Is, with best figures of 4/16.

India’s leading wicket-taker in T20I cricket remains the spin veteran Yuzvendra Chahal, who has claimed 96 wickets in 80 games. Chahal averages 25.09 with an economy rate of 8.19, and his best figures are an impressive 6/25. Following Chahal is the swing specialist Bhuvneshwar Kumar, who has taken 90 wickets in 87 matches at an average of 23.10 and an economy rate of 6.96, with best figures of 5/4.

In the global arena, New Zealand’s pace veteran Tim Southee holds the record for the most T20I wickets, with 157 wickets in 123 matches. Southee averages 23.15 with an economy rate of 8.13, and his best figures are 5/13.

The match showcased the exciting and unpredictable nature of T20 cricket. Pakistan won the toss and chose to field first. India’s innings struggled on a challenging surface, with top-order batsmen Virat Kohli and Rohit Sharma managing just 4 and 13 runs respectively. Rishabh Pant, however, played a pivotal role with a resilient 42 off 31 balls, forming crucial partnerships with Axar Patel (20 off 18) and Suryakumar Yadav (7 off 8). Despite these efforts, India was restricted to a modest total of 119 in 19 overs, thanks to disciplined bowling from Haris Rauf (3/21) and Naseem Shah (3/21).

In their chase, Pakistan adopted a cautious approach, with Mohammad Rizwan anchoring the innings with 31 off 44 balls. However, Bumrah’s incisive bowling, coupled with Hardik Pandya’s crucial breakthroughs (2/24), kept the pressure on Pakistan. Key wickets of Babar Azam (13), Fakhar Zaman (13), Shadab Khan (4), and Iftikhar Ahmed (5) derailed Pakistan’s chase. Despite a late effort from Naseem Shah (10*), Pakistan fell short by six runs, ending at 113/7.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram