Skip to content

Team India Prep Mode On with Special Practice Session Ahead of Asia Cup 2023

The Indian cricket team has embarked on an intensive training camp at Alur, situated on the outskirts of Bengaluru in Karnataka, to gear up for the impending tournament.

Scheduled to begin with Pakistan and Nepal match today, the Asia Cup promises riveting clashes between cricketing giants. The opening fixture will witness Pakistan facing off against Nepal in Multan, Pakistan, setting the stage for an exciting contest. Team India, however, will embark on their Asia Cup journey by taking on arch-rivals Pakistan on September 2 at the Pallekele International Cricket Stadium in Kandy, Sri Lanka.

In a testament to their commitment, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) shared a glimpse of the team’s ardent training efforts through a video posted on their social media platforms. The video captures Indian cricket luminaries like Virat Kohli, Rohit Sharma, KL Rahul, Hardik Pandya, Shubman Gill, and Ravindra Jadeja diligently honing their skills during practice sessions.

Batsmen were seen sweating it out in the nets, their resolute determination evident as they strive to fine-tune their techniques. The bowlers, including Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammed Siraj, Mohammed Shami, and Prasidh Krishna, were seen meticulously working to maintain the precise line and length essential for maneuvering Lankan pitches.

The Asia Cup’s format entails two groups, with Pakistan, India, and Nepal composing Group A, while Bangladesh, Afghanistan, and Sri Lanka comprise Group B. The tournament’s unique hybrid model sees Pakistan hosting four matches across two venues, while Sri Lanka takes charge of the remaining games.

The group-stage matches will culminate in the riveting Super Fours stage, slated to commence on September 6, where the top teams will vie for supremacy. The culmination of the competition is marked by the eagerly awaited final, scheduled for September 17 in Colombo, where the top two teams emerging from the Super Fours will lock horns in a bid for championship glory.

Also See: Team India Upcoming Matches and Series List

Indian Squad for Asia Cup: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shubman Gill, Virat Kohli, Shreyas Iyer, KL Rahul, Suryakumar Yadav, Tilak Varma, Ishan Kishan, Hardik Pandya (vice-captain), Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Shardul Thakur, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohammad Shami, Mohammed Siraj, Kuldeep Yadav, Prasidh Krishna.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram