Skip to content

Team India Set for T20I Challenge Under Bumrah’s Captaincy in Ireland

A vibrant and fresh-faced Indian cricket team, led by the resurgent Jasprit Bumrah, is all set to embark on a thrilling journey to Ireland for a riveting three-match T20I series in Dublin. Departing with a sense of enthusiasm and ambition, this new-look squad brimming with young talents is gearing up to leave their mark on the international stage under Bumrah’s captaincy. The series, scheduled from August 18 to 23, promises to be a captivating clash between emerging players and Ireland’s finest.

The Indian cricket fraternity is abuzz with excitement as this youth-driven contingent readies itself for action. Bumrah, marking his comeback after a significant injury-induced hiatus, will be at the helm, steering a squad that includes several promising prospects. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) showcased the team’s departure on its social media platforms, providing fans a glimpse of the spirited unit.

Also See: 2023 ICC Cricket World Cup Matches, Fixtures Dates, Venues and Teams

The new-look India squad features a host of young talents eager to make their presence felt on the international stage. Ruturaj Gaikwad, Prasidh Krishna, Rinku Singh, and Shivam Dube are among the names that promise to shine in the upcoming T20I series against Ireland.

The exciting contest between India and Ireland is set to kick off on August 18 at The Village in Dublin. All three matches of the series will be played at this venue, adding an element of continuity and intrigue to the clashes.

The squad introduction unveils some fresh faces as well. Rinku Singh, coming off a stellar Indian Premier League (IPL) season with the Kolkata Knight Riders, showcases a breakthrough performance, having scored an impressive 474 runs in 14 matches with four half-centuries. The talented Prasidh Krishna, who last represented Team India in August 2022, is returning to the fray after recovering from a lumbar stress fracture. He missed IPL 2023, where he was slated to play for the Rajasthan Royals.

All-rounder Shivam Dube, who last donned the Indian jersey in February 2020, is making a comeback in style. His impactful performance in the 2023 IPL season with the Chennai Super Kings, where he amassed 418 runs in 16 matches with three fifties, has elevated expectations for his power-hitting prowess.

The BCCI’s decision to rest some senior players for this tour has paved the way for these emerging stars to showcase their mettle. These seniors are anticipated to regroup in India for a camp in preparation for the Asia Cup.

Also See: Asia Cup Schedule, Match Dates and Venues

Team India (Senior Men) squad for T20I series against Ireland: Jasprit Bumrah (C), Ruturaj Gaikwad (VC), Yashasvi Jaiswal, Tilak Varma, Rinku Singh, Sanju Samson (wk), Jitesh Sharma (wk), Shivam Dube, Washington Sundar, Shahbaz Ahmed, Ravi Bishnoi, Prasidh Krishna, Arshdeep Singh, Mukesh Kumar, Avesh Khan.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram