Skip to content

UP Warriorz join Mumbai Indians and Delhi Capitals for WPL 2023 playoffs

Over the past two weeks, the inaugural Women’s Premier League (WPL) has delivered thrilling, intense cricket action, with dreams coming true and hearts breaking along the way.

The race for the WPL trophy has now been narrowed down to three teams: Delhi Capitals, Mumbai Indians, and UP Warriorz. Mumbai Indians were the first to secure a playoff spot, followed by Delhi Capitals, while UP Warriorz claimed the last playoff position after a thrilling three-wicket victory over Gujarat Giants on a double-header Monday.

This day also saw Delhi Capitals defeat Mumbai Indians by nine wickets.

At the conclusion of these matches, Delhi Capitals sit atop the points table, having won five matches and lost two, totaling 10 points.

Mumbai Indians share the same win-loss record but hold second place due to a lower net-run rate. UP Warriorz has confirmed a third-place finish with four wins, three losses, and eight points. Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) and Gujarat Giants (GG) have reached the end of their WPL journey.

RCB is in fourth place with two wins and five losses, while GG finishes last with two wins and six losses.

In the first game of the day, Gujarat Giants batted first, setting a total of 178/6 in 20 overs. Despite an early setback, a 93-run partnership between Ashleigh Gardner and Dayalan Hemalatha propelled Gujarat to a competitive total. UP Warriorz’s chase of 179 began poorly but was revived by an 82-run partnership between Tahlia McGrath and Grace Harris.

Sophie Ecclestone hit the winning four, securing a last-over win for UP Warriorz. Grace was awarded the ‘Player of the Match’ for her performance.

In the second game, Delhi Capitals chose to field first, restricting Mumbai Indians to 109 all out. Marizanne Kapp, Shikha Pandey, and Jess Jonassen were the standout bowlers for DC. The chase was dominated by DC openers Shafali Verma and Meg Lanning, who reached the 50-run mark in just four overs.

Lanning and Alice Capsey eventually guided the team to victory in just nine overs.

Kapp was named ‘Player of the Match’ for her exceptional bowling performance.

At the end of the league stage, the top team will secure a direct spot in the final on March 26, while the eliminator to determine the second finalist will take place on March 24.

Also See: WPL Live score today

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram