Skip to content

Virat Kohli and Yashasvi Jaiswal should open for Team India in T20 World Cup 2024

Former Indian cricketer Wasim Jaffer has voiced a strategic opinion for the Indian cricket team’s approach at the upcoming T20 World Cup in 2024. In a recent post on his official X account, Jaffer suggested that Virat Kohli and Yashasvi Jaiswal should be the opening batsmen for the Men in Blue. The tournament is set to take place from June 1 to June 29, across venues in the West Indies and the USA.

Jaffer’s proposition includes a shift in the batting order where Rohit Sharma and Suryakumar Yadav would bat at the third and fourth positions, respectively. He highlighted Rohit’s adeptness at playing spin, which he believes would serve the team well, particularly if he bats at the fourth position depending on the opening partnership’s performance.

The ICC T20 World Cup will kick off with India playing their only warm-up game against Bangladesh on June 1 at the Nassau County International Cricket Stadium in New York. India’s official campaign begins on June 5 against Ireland at the same venue. Following this, the team will face its arch-rival Pakistan on June 9, a match that is highly anticipated every tournament. The Group A stage for India will conclude with games against the tournament co-hosts USA on June 12, and Canada on June 15.

This year, the Indian team, led by coach Rahul Dravid, is particularly keen to clinch an ICC trophy, having not won any since the ICC Champions Trophy in 2013. Despite reaching critical stages in various tournaments, including the finals and semi-finals in both the 50-over and T20 formats, a title has eluded them recently. India’s last triumph in the T20 World Cup dates back to the inaugural edition in 2007 held in South Africa.

India Squad for T20 World Cup

India: Rohit Sharma (c), Hardik Pandya, Yashasvi Jaiswal, Virat Kohli, Suryakumar Yadav, Rishabh Pant, Sanju Samson, Shivam Dube, Ravindra Jadeja, Axar Patel, Kuldeep Yadav, Yuzvendra Chahal, Arshdeep Singh, Jasprit Bumrah, Mohd. Siraj. 

Reserves: Shubman Gill, Rinku Singh, Khaleel Ahmed, Avesh Khan

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram