Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 89

Warning: Constant WP_DEBUG_LOG already defined in /home/sarkarij/cricketschedule.com/wp-config.php on line 91
West Indies Squads for ODIs & T20Is against South Africa Announced
Skip to content

West Indies Squads for ODIs & T20Is against South Africa Announced

Team West Indies (Photo: ICC)

The Senior Men’s Selection Panel of Cricket West Indies (CWI) has announced squad for the upcoming series against South Africa, including the One-Day International (ODI) and T20 International (T20I) squads.

West Indies will commence their tour of South Africa with two Tests from February 28 to March 12, with Kraigg Brathwaite leading the team. This will be followed by the white-ball games, starting with the ODIs on March 16, 18, and 21, and then the T20Is on March 25, 26, and 28.

Shai Hope will have his captaincy debut in the ODIs, with Rovman Powell serving as his vice-captain. Meanwhile, Kyle Mayers, a batting all-rounder, will assist Rovman Powell as the new vice-captain in the T20Is.

Fast bowler Shannon Gabriel has been selected for the ODI squad based on his outstanding performance in the CG United Super50 Cup held in November last year. During the tournament, he was the joint leading-wicket taker, leading the Trinidad & Tobago Red Force bowling attack and claiming 15 wickets in seven matches at an average of 14.2.

His last appearance for the West Indies in the ODI format was in July 2019 during the ICC Cricket World Cup.

The left-arm pacer Obed McCoy has been included in the T20I squad, pending medical clearance. Unfortunately, the fast bowler Jayden Seales is still not fit for selection due to his knee injury and subsequent surgery, and Anderson Philiip has resumed training but is not yet ready to play.

“We have had some injuries to our fast-bowling pool so therefore we see Gabriel as an ideal fit heading into South Africa, and the surfaces we expect to play on. It is felt that we need someone to get those early wickets and he is the kind of bowler that can do that. Judging from his performances in the CG United Super50 Cup, he is potentially a wicket-taking option up front,”

Lead Selector Desmond Haynes said in a statement released by CWI.

“For the T20Is, we have an experienced squad. What we are looking for is to form a cohesive unit and look at the players who we believe can form the nucleus as we build towards doing very well and challenging when we host the ICC Men’s T20 World Cup in June 2024,”

Haynes added

West Indies ODI squad against South Africa:

Shai Hope (captain), Rovman Powell (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Keacy Carty, Roston Chase, Shannon Gabriel, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Kyle Mayers, Nicholas Pooran, Romario Shepherd and Odean Smith.

West Indies T20I squad against South Africa:

Rovman Powell (captain), Kyle Mayers (vice-captain), Shamarh Brooks, Yannic Cariah, Johnson Charles, Sheldon Cottrell, Jason Holder, Akeal Hosein, Alzarri Joseph, Brandon King, Obed McCoy, Nicholas Pooran, Raymon Reifer, Romario Shepherd and Odean Smith.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram