Skip to content

Women’s IPL 2023: 8 IPL franchises among a host of others show interest in buying women’s IPL teams

The Women’s Indian Premier League (WIPL) is set to make its debut next year with the announcement of the five new teams and their owners set to be revealed on January 25th. With the last date for the purchase of Invitation to Tender (ITT) being January 22nd and the financial bids set to be opened on January 25th, the WIPL is expected to garner a lot of attention from both cricket fans and investors alike.

At least eight IPL team owners are expected to make serious bids to own a women’s IPL team. The likes of Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals, Kolkata Knight Riders, and Royal Challengers Bangalore are expected to run the full distance, with some interesting companies like Haldiram, Route Mobile, the Naman Group, and APL Apollo also showing their willingness to own teams.

Given the current global economic recession, bidders may be circumspect in their investments. However, the BCCI’s business model leaves enough scope for team owners to cut losses. The BCCI has not set a base price for the teams, and the financial bids will be accepted in a sealed envelope. The winning bidders will own the team for perpetuity, just like the men’s IPL franchises.

The BCCI has shortlisted ten cities as home bases for the teams, including Ahmedabad, Kolkata, Chennai, Bengaluru, Delhi, Dharamsala, Guwahati, Indore, Lucknow, and Mumbai, with the latter having three grounds to choose from.

This new venture is expected to bring a lot of excitement and interest to women’s cricket in India. With Viacom paying a whopping INR 951 crores for five years at INR 7.9 crores per match, the WIPL is set to be a success. The ITT states that there will be a minimum of 22 WIPL matches per season, making it an exciting time for cricket fans and investors alike.

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram