Skip to content

WPL Final 2023: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 7-Wkts to win first edition of Women’s Premier League

Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals in WPL Final Match – Photo MI Twitter

The Mumbai Indians emerged victorious in the inaugural Women’s Premier League 2023 (WPL), defeating the Delhi Capitals by seven wickets at Brabourne Stadium on Sunday. Nat Sciver-Brunt’s unbeaten half-century and tight bowling performances were instrumental in their win.

Despite a shaky start in their chase of 132 runs, losing opener Yastika Bhatia early on, the Mumbai Indians managed to regroup. Jess Jonassen’s crucial dismissal of Hayley Matthews saw the team lose their second wicket at 23.

A much-needed partnership between captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Nat Sciver-Brunt helped stabilize the innings, reaching the 50-run mark in 9.2 overs. The pair added a 50-run partnership off 53 balls before Harmanpreet was run out for 37.

With Sciver-Brunt and Amelia Kerr at the crease, the Mumbai Indians surpassed the 100-run mark and ultimately achieved their target in 19.3 overs.

Sciver-Brunt scored an unbeaten 60 off 55 balls, while Kerr contributed 14 not out off 8 balls.

Full Scorecard: Mumbai Indians beat Delhi Capitals by 7-Wickets in WPL Final match

Earlier in the day, Mumbai Indians bowler Issy Wong struck twice in the second over, removing Shafali Verma and Alice Capsey. Delhi Capitals’ Jemimah Rodrigues and captain Meg Lanning counterattacked, but Rodrigues was dismissed after scoring 9 runs. Marizanne Kapp followed shortly, scoring 18 off 21 deliveries.

A brilliant fielding display led to Lanning’s run-out for 35 off 29 balls, and Delhi Capitals began losing wickets at regular intervals.

Mumbai’s bowlers dominated the match, with Hayley Matthews dismissing Jess Jonassen and taking two more wickets in the 16th over. Shikha Pandey and Radha Yadav put up a fight, adding crucial runs in the 17th and 20th overs, but it was not enough to secure a victory.

Delhi Capitals ended their innings with a total of 131/9 in 20 overs.

Mumbai Indians vs Delhi Capitals WPL Final Brief score

  • Delhi Capitals 131/9 (Meg Lanning 35, Radha Yadav 27; Hayley Matthews 3-5)
  • Mumbai Indians 134/3 in 19.3 overs (Nat Sciver-Brunt 60*, Harmanpreet Kaur 37; Radha Yadav 1/24)
  • WPL Full Scorecard Today

Get every cricket update! Follow us on

follow google news   follow telegram